Pellet volume

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

1Randy123

Nov 26, 2018
Nashville, Michigan
Hello all, just joined, first post. I looked for a search engine to see if this question had already been asked but did not see one. Did I miss it ?
I have been using a Wood Master 4400 for the last 15 years. I heat a 1700 sq. ft. home, a 1000 sq. ft. work shop, an 800 sq. ft. apartment, a 500 sq. ft. 4 season green house and two water heaters. In a normal year I burn a 16'x16'x7' pile of wood.
I am turning 74 yrs. old and am getting tired of cutting wood so I am considering the purchase of an outdoor pellet boiler. My biggest concerns are - -
1) How many pellets can I expect to burn per year ? (They are around $200/ton here.)
2) What can I expect concerning keeping it clean and ashes dumped?
I would also like to hear the pro's and con's you guys have on outdoor pellet boilers. If there are conversations already on this site I should read please direct me to them.
Thank you for your time,
1Randy123

Don't think there are many around here with outdoor pellet burners. IMO with good reason - standby heat loss.

There are a few with indoor units, and some very good ones at that.

Can you put one indoors in one of those places?

Pellets suppose to be equal to 1 Ton Pellets to 1.5 Cord of Wood. Just a guess you have 10 cords of wood and that would require 7 tons of pellets give or take. Or about $1400 plus tax and delivery. Plus you need dry place to store them.

Your pile of wood works out to 14 cords.