pick and choose what wood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

James02

Feeling the Heat
Aug 18, 2011
N.Y.S.
I know as a noob my wood is ok at best...I've been taking thinly split and wood with as much exposure to the sun as possible to burn....Now, when I my wood is good next year am I going to be doing that?...what is standard practice for everybody who has seasoned wood....?

James, you no doubt know this but maybe forgot. Wind is more important than sun. We've stacked wood in the shade many times and have no problem getting it dry.

If you want it to dry the fastest, stack it out in the windiest spot you have. Stack it rather loosely so air can get through the stack and, of course, stack so the wind hits the side of the wood pile. Don't try to stack it very high because stacking it loosely makes it a bit more unsteady. Also make sure you do not stack it right on the ground. Air under the stack is good too.