1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Picking up the Quadrafire 7100 today(pics)

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by ymurf, Nov 20, 2012.

  1. ymurf

    ymurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Missouri
    Getting ready to set my walls so I figure its a good time to pick up the Quadrafire 7100 and set in on the floor before I get the last wall up. You guys may have read some of my other posts about this fireplace I have been looking at.It was used for a couple years and needs a new gasket and some fresh paint..Here are a few pics of my addition and the fireplace.I do have a couple questions, I am also getting all the flue pipe with it,I have pics of it here,Can I re use this pipe? I did get some good used handles from a member on this site mdc0326 and I appreciate. He is a great guy and this is an awesome site. The guy I am buying the fireplace from evidently had the optional heat zone kits he bought hooked up wrong. He had the blowers mounted on top of the fireplace and they go in the ceiling or wall in the room you want heat in from what I have been told. I am giving $700 for everything. Seems like a good price.I hope I didnt over pay. Here are some pics. And one other question, I see he has steel grates in the fireplace he was using. Did I read correctly on here in other posts that you dont use grates in this fireplace? Just put wood in the bottom of fire place? Sorry for all these questions but new to burning wood and have never installed a fireplace and want to get it right.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Needing fireplace in the room before the last wall goes up.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Heat zone blowers mounted wrong on top of fireplace.
    [​IMG]
    Can I re use this flue pipe?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    ScotO likes this.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. ymurf

    ymurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Missouri
    Also wanted to mention I am going to try and figure out how to run the heat zone kit to the basement for a little heat.
  3. kmachn

    kmachn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Loc:
    St. Louis, MO
    A few comments, although I'm certainly not an expert on the installs. I just installed a 7100 new so I know a little bit about what goes into it. Hopefully someone with more knowledge & experience can chime in and give you better feedback.

    I would be hesitant to re-use the chimney pipe. If it were Class A pipe, given the cost, I might be more apt to re-use. But the air-cooled pipe is so much less expensive that it is probably worth the investment. But I am not an expert on re-using chimney pipe and I am not familiar with how common practice it is, so I’ll let others be an expert on that.

    You are correct, you do not need the grate at the bottom. Find a new home for it, the 7100 will be just fine without it. Although, you do need firebrick on the bottom. It is difficult to tell if it is there considering the ashes in the bottom, but it does need to be there.

    I am not a good judge at evaluating the condition of a used fireplace or stove, but the brackets holding the firebrick in place look a little rough. They might be fine given the stove is used, I’m just not sure how they get bent like that unless someone is overfiring or intentionally bending them to get the bricks in place.

    You also need to purchase a baffle and ceramic blanket for this fireplace. There is also a little bracket that protects them at the front of the fireplace, if you don’t have that I would recommend it also. Finally, I would strongly suggest buying the non-combustible material (which I think is basically Micore) for the front of the fireplace. I suppose you could use Durock or something, but the stuff that comes with the fireplace (I think) has a higher R-Value and probably helps to keep the unit hot. That would only make the use of the fan (and auxiliary fans) more effective.

    Having said all that, $700 is really not very much so I don’t think you overpaid. As I said before I am not a good judge on assessing the condition of these appliances but considering how much I paid for a new one (retail), I don’t think you went wrong. Get yourself a copy of the owner’s manual, though (online from QF’s website) and review the installation instructions so you can make sure you get all the right parts ahead of time. If I get a chance, I will try to look up the part numbers for these parts listed above that I do not see in the pictures (although you may have them lying around some place, just not in the fireplace). Good luck
  4. ymurf

    ymurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Missouri
    Only parts here are whats shown.So am I missing the baffle and ceramic blanket? See,I had no idea anything was missing..I havnt paid him yet so may call and get some prices on these things.
  5. ScotO

    ScotO Guest

    I am installing a Napoleon NZ3000 ZC fireplace right now, and I utilized the ducts for the heat. Great options on these stoves. I agree with the poster above, though. You may want to consider going with an insulated Class A flue pipe, just for the added safety of it. Yeah, it's an additional cost, but in the long run your family and your house are worth the little extra. That looks to be a decent unit, sounds like you got it for a great price too. I ain't even gonna say how much I have in my Napoleon, but I will say we fell in love with that fireplace and we saved for several years to get it. When the government came out with the EPA tax rebate a couple of years ago, we pulled the trigger and bought it, and saved $1500.00 right off the top! Keep us posted on your project, if you need any tips or ideas for your ducting, let me or the others on the forum know. We're all a team here!

    BTW that addition on your house is gonna be really nice! I'm sure you are excited for that!
  6. ymurf

    ymurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Missouri
    What flue pipe will I need for this?Do I need the air cooled pipe like he had or can I use an insulated ss flue pipe?
  7. kmachn

    kmachn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Loc:
    St. Louis, MO
    Check out the manual here... http://hearthnhome.com/downloads/installManuals/433_1390.pdf

    2 Header Shield 480-1130
    3 Ceramic Fiber Blanket, 1 In. 832-3401 Y
    4 Baffle Board SRV433-0910 Y

    The ceramic fiber blanket and baffle board are (I think) items that typically need to be replaced eventually, although I do not know the average life span. The "header shield" can not be too expensive, it is basically an angled piece of metal. These pieces go on top of the burner tubes at the top. To install them, you remove the front tube (or two) and put them in place then replace the tubes. Pages #9 and #73 of the owner's manual give good information about them. These are crucial for getting the most heat from your fireplace and are what help them to meet the EPA requirements.

    The chimney pipe is either SL300 or Class A pipe. The SL300 is 8" double-wall, air cooled between the walls. It is what you have now, and is chimney pipe, not stove pipe. The Class A pipe (which is the insulated stuff) is 8"...and very expensive. If you are having trouble deciding between the 2, check out this thread (http://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/chimney-questions.87069/) where I posted a question when I was considering it. For what it's worth, I decided to go with the SL300 (my dealer strongly encouraged it, also) and although this is my first season with it, the performance is great. We will see about the creosote production at the end of the season, but based on replies in that thread (and the very clean burns I’m getting) I don’t think I’ll have problems.

    Maybe I'll get pics posted of my install, but I still have to finish the stone surround, the mantel and the hearth so it won't be the finished product. If I get a chance this evening, I'll try to take some pics of the header shield & ceramic fiber blanket (the baffle will be hidden by the header shield.)
  8. ymurf

    ymurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Missouri
    The parts I had to replace are going to cost $166. I offered him $500 for everything and he took it.So it is now sitting in my new unfinished addition.
  9. kmachn

    kmachn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Loc:
    St. Louis, MO
    Awesome deal, good for you. Make sure you get those burn tubes in the right direction when you reinstall them. The holes should be facing the front, and from your picture it looks like...well, I can't see them and if they were facing the front then I should be able to see them.

    BTW, what part of Missouri are you in?
  10. ymurf

    ymurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Missouri
    I am in Steelville..
  11. Mjinpa

    Mjinpa New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Ymurf, two things... I'm not seeing the lever for the acc start up feature. Should be next to the primary air control lever. Could be an older model that did not have the acc feature, I'm really not sure. At the bottom right corner of the fireplace I see the stem of the outside air kit control but there is not a knob attached to it. You might want to order that while you order the other parts. $500 is a steal for that fireplace. Paint it up and get the parts you need and you saved yourself a lot of money. Good luck with it.
  12. ymurf

    ymurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Missouri
    I have the knobs. He had taken them off for some reason.I never noticed that lever being gone.He said it is about 5 years old and he only used it for two years.What year did they star putting that acc lever on them?
  13. Mjinpa

    Mjinpa New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    I'm not sure if the 7100 was ever produced without the acc feature. Was just taking a guess as to why its not there. Hopefully someone else will chime in that knows.
  14. ymurf

    ymurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Missouri
    Yea,Does anyone here know if they ever made the 7100 without this feature?or is mine just gone?
  15. Mjinpa

    Mjinpa New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Ymurf, even if it is removed for whatever reason I wouldn't panic cause some don't even use it. As long as wood is seasoned you should be good. Just leave door cracked open at start up for a while and you are doing the same thing as using the acc.
    Blue2ndaries likes this.
  16. ymurf

    ymurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Missouri
    I am getting ready to set the fireplace in its spot.Anything you guys can think of I will need for the install? I ordered the ceramic blanket and baffle board.I see in the manual online something about some metal strips that go under the front of the fireplace and stick out the front? Is this something I need? Also I see something like a pattern that goes on the front of the fireplace for the install?
  17. Machria

    Machria Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,114
    Loc:
    Brookhaven, Long Island
    Don't forget to grab that nice round in pic 2! ;)
  18. ymurf

    ymurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Missouri
    I ordered my new ceramic blanket and baffle board and metal plate that holds them in today.

Share This Page