pine split size

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

SPED

Dec 31, 2007
This is my first year gathering any pine, got a bunch I can get for free that are down, the guy is allowing me to buck em and take em(about 2-4' across rounds). This will be my fall/spring wood and used as kindling and mixed in during the day when i'm around to load the stove in the colder months. Being a softwood do people generally split them the same size as the hardwood you use? Or do you recommend bigger splits? My plan was to vary them from about 5 or 6" on down to kindling size.

I split to normal 5" size and then knock them smaller as/if needed as I bring it in to burn. Every wood pile should have a chopping block next to it. I split my cottonwood to larger 7" or so size thinking that it would help with burn time but it does not, it just makes the splits harder to fit into the firebox.

Be careful to avoid loading a big chunk of fatwood on accident. When you see that white tar on the outside and the shiny wood, throw that piece aside and use it for something else.

Highbeam said:
I split to normal 5" size and then knock them smaller as/if needed as I bring it in to burn. Every wood pile should have a chopping block next to it. I split my cottonwood to larger 7" or so size thinking that it would help with burn time but it does not, it just makes the splits harder to fit into the firebox.

Be careful to avoid loading a big chunk of fatwood on accident. When you see that white tar on the outside and the shiny wood, throw that piece aside and use it for something else.