Please help me figure out how to heat my living area safely.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sapper

Nov 20, 2011
United States
Hello, I'm brand new to any kind of wood burning. I bought a wood burning insert, a Drolet 1400i and I would love to get it running by snow fall this year. The minimum safe distances to combustibles from the user manual doesn't exactly match my current mantel set up.
This is a picture of my insert in my fireplace with the dimensions.
insert1.jpg

Here is a picture from the manuals minimum safe distance.

diagram1.jpg

The manual also states that the insert must be raised a minimum of 4 inches from the floor, which I can do but then my top mantel and top shelf distances are decreased even further. My questions are:
1) how should I raise the insert? Can I just use fire bricks or something?
2) My top mantel distances are too short, can I use something to block or deflect the heat so that I can safely use the insert without modification to the mantel?
3) My side combustible distances are 1-2 inches short. Should I just cut away 1-2 inches off of each side of the wood to make it proper safe distance? (It looks like there is brick behind the wood for at least 2-3 inches).

I'm really concerned about accidentally burning down my house. Thank you for your help.

I can't help ya out on how to raise it, nor about the side clearances.....but we also had an issue with the mantle, if you can see in the picture, we had to purchase a Deflector for ours that shields the Mantle from too much heat....actually like the look of it.
DSCN2050.jpg