Please Help with my Add-On Furnace, Can’t ID it and new to wood burning...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

LelandWard

Nov 21, 2011
Columbus, Ohio
As stated above I'm very new to the wood burning gig. I'm heating a 2000sq/ft two story house. I have installed an addon stove that is 27"deep, 21" wide and about 20" tall as far as the firebox goes, so this thing is pretty big. It has 10" legs and sits on the concrete foundation of my block home. I've run the 6" flue through the concrete wall, which is at a contant angle up, nothing completely horizontal. This runs 6' and turnminates up at a 90' another 6'. My house is a gable roof, so its plent far from the roof at this height. My questions are:
-Do you think this will allow for proper draft or should I go higher
-Stove is 2' from one wall, the back corner nearest to the firemat is about 1' and that front corner about 1.5' from wall.
-How would you treat the walls for fire safety, I haven't started this thing full time yet and can do anything needed to the walls of this furnace room.
-I lit the stove and the room went from 60'F to 115'F in a couple hrs and didn't rise above that, that was with the 8" duct pipe not installed into my return, is this safe?