1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Problem with Lopi Answer: Sudden loss of draft

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Rainy cold Oregon, Jan 27, 2013.

1. Rainy cold Oregon

Rainy cold Oregon New Member

I've been using a Lopi Answer insert for seven years buring at least two cords with no problems. I only burn dry wood and I clean/maintain the stove each season. I have had a sudden loss of draft - literally, one day it works like always and the next it doesn't. Even with the air intake on full open and the door cracked a tiny bit, it smokes so much it will almost put out the kindling. That's never happened before. With the door cracked like that, I could just about vaporize the kindling in a matter of seconds because it would roar and crackle to life very quickly. I did a mid-season thorough clean and inspection and couldn't find anything obvious: No obstructions and secondary air pipes seem just fine. I'm at a loss, and as far as I can tell, Lopi doesn't accept direct inquiries from the public. My local dealer is the type of place that would try to turn it into an expensive bill. I don't trust them. I would appreciate any help out there! Thanks in advance.

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. webby3650

webby3650 Master of Fire

Loc:
    southern Indiana
    Have you cleaned the fly ash from on top of the baffle? Is the cap clean?
  3. FishKiller

FishKiller New Member