1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Programmable Thermostat for Harman XXV

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by amick780, Sep 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. amick780

    amick780 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Loc:
    Northern New York
    Any one have any experience with their Harman XXV and a programable thermostat? Like the way the stove works now with the room temp settings but would be nice to have a programmable thermostat.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. crausch

    crausch New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    747
    Loc:
    Littlestown, PA
    I have not used one, but othrs on the forum have. You will experience a 4-blink code when the cuircut is open, however this will automatically reset. I am sending you a technical bulletin by Harman that describes how to wire the programmable T-stat to the stove. Check your private messages.
  3. amick780

    amick780 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Loc:
    Northern New York
    Thanks codebum that was exactly what I was looking for, big help.
  4. Vermont-XXV

    Vermont-XXV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Loc:
    Champlain Valley, Vermont
    You can also search for "programmable thermostat harman xxv" There was a thread started by misty on 13 October 2008 that had some answers that seemed to hit the mark. Esp. by GVA. The tech bulletin referred to by codebum is probably the 3/26/07 one? I've got the wall unit - just haven't hooked it up yet. Good luck. clifford
  5. amick780

    amick780 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Loc:
    Northern New York
    You are correct, it is the tech bulletin from 3/26/07. I understand I can not regulate the temp from the Tstat. I am more interested in having the stove turn itself down for a few hours while my wife and I are at work....from say 10-2 or so. We work from 8-5. I think it will save us some bags of pellets over the years. What do you think?
  6. Vermont-XXV

    Vermont-XXV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Loc:
    Champlain Valley, Vermont
    Adam,

    It's perfect logic and I guess it will work. I don't think it's an elegant solution, but it's supposed to work. I don't know why Harman hasn't built it, or sold an add on, for it. Could you post what thermostadt you use and if it does work?

    I was able to find the Honeywell RTH230B at Aubuchons, in Vergennes, Vt, for $40.

    There's a very detailed and long thread started by HarryBack on 11 May 2007, using all the same equipment available now. It's entitled "setback thermostats and Harman Pellet stoves" also "Wall thermostat with P68 ?" by Steve NH in 26 December 2008.

    I thought I'd keep it simple and just use the harman wire - not try to lengthen it yet.

    clifford
  7. amick780

    amick780 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Loc:
    Northern New York
    I think its kind of rediclous that Harman does not offer some sort of remote thermostat for their stoves. I would think there would be a pretty good demand for such and option. Anyway, I guess we have what we have, still love the stove. Going to check out the other threads and I will let you know how I make out.
  8. Jim H.

    Jim H. Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Loc:
    N.E. Pa. (Northampton County)
    i did mine last year and it works great! i had it go on an hour or so before we got up and went off a little later....then an hour or so before coming home at night. since it is downstairs in the family room, this year we are going to just put it on before we come home at this point. i still went thru 2 tons last year and figured i could cut that back since our electric is off peak until 9 am anyways, this way in the am while upstairs we can just take the chill off till going to work with electric....then let the stove do its thing in the late afternoon/evening.

    Jim
  9. amick780

    amick780 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Loc:
    Northern New York
    Not a bad idea, I think we will have our shut off for a little while at night. Our propane is expensive no matter when we use it, so if I can save a few hours here and there of pellet burning I think it will pay off. BTW what thermostat did you end up using? Also your stove looks great with the top stove pipe kit!!
  10. Jim H.

    Jim H. Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Loc:
    N.E. Pa. (Northampton County)
    thanks, I used a Honeywell. It is a 5 day and weekend programable. I just tell the thermostat to go to about 80 usually then control the temp with the stove, set at 75 or so......works well. Enjoy the stove, i know i have been. we actually used it a couple of evenings ago...it was a cold damp day to begin with getting barely into the 60's then went into the 50's quickly that evening....so had to do it! LOL Now it is getting warmer again outside. I'll take the warmth any way I can get it!
  11. 603BOB

    603BOB Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    NH
    I have an Advance, not the XXV - but I have been using a set back for several years. Harman was absolutely NO help, but I figured out that I can "fool" the thermistor that controls the temperature on the "room" setting.

    It works just slick as heck - drops back 8 degrees at night - comes back to the stove setting before we get up.

    The thermistor is a negative temperature type resistance - I simply switch an adjustable resistor across the thermistor with a time clock, and adjust the resistor for the desired set back. (Mine is set for 8 degrees) The stove setting can be changed, and the set back remains at 8 degrees.
  12. amick780

    amick780 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Loc:
    Northern New York
    Installed the thermostat on my Harman yesterday...works as expected. Hoping to save some pellets with it, set it to shut the stove down for 4 hrs during the day while we are at work, and a few hours in the middle of the night.
  13. gcugg

    gcugg New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Loc:
    Framingham, MA
    I also have an XXV, had it since last year. Everything was fine until recently the stove will not shut down when turned down to the min. temp while in room temp mode. Sounds like you guys had some luck with thermostats. Did these attach to the two prong connection at the back of the machine (currently the Harman XXV temp probe is now attached there)? Will any low voltage household thermostat work? And last, how far away do from the stove do you mount the thermostat?

    Thanks for any help.

    Guy
  14. Jim H.

    Jim H. Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Loc:
    N.E. Pa. (Northampton County)
    the thermostat will tell the stove to shut down. if you turn down your temp on the stove itself, it will shut down the blowers or make a small fire. the thermostat if i tell it to go off it shuts the stove down, or if i turn the thermostat down it will do the same thing. make sense?
  15. GVA

    GVA Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,140
    Loc:
    Waxhaw, NC... Formerly North shore Mass
    Link below
    http://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/25382/
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page