1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Pump and wire in trench questions

Post in 'The Boiler Room - Wood Boilers and Furnaces' started by flyingcow, Aug 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. flyingcow

    flyingcow Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,410
    Loc:
    northern-half of maine
    i put a 2 inch pvc conduit in the trench with everything else. Way too nice. Not a waste of time or money

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. pybyr

    pybyr Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,301
    Loc:
    Adamant, VT 05640
    I'd second that and suggest that you put in a _couple_ of runs of cheap plastic pipe parallel on the opposite outer edges of the trench. "Regular" 120/240 power is never supposed to be in the same conduit as lower voltage switching lines, and AC voltage can introduce some strange voltages and currents in sensor wire if they are run in close proximity and in parallel to each other. The incremental cost of another line of cheap black poly will be small compared to the options it opens and frustrations that it could save if you need to go in a direction, wiring wise, that neither you nor anyone else may be able to see just yet.
  3. Tennman

    Tennman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    716
    Loc:
    Southern Tenn
    Well, 1.25" PEX is in the ground. WHEW! I'd estimate from boiler to heat exchanger is 180' one-way. The ground is basically level so the boiler sits I'd guess 4-5' above where the HE will be installed on my forced air furnace in the root cellar. I've downloaded the TACO pump program and studied the charts. I've got a Biomass 60 (200kbtu) so I'm estimating I need 18-20 gpm but the head pressure I'm a little gray on. The TACO 1400-20 (1/6 HP) seems to be the leading candidate. I've read about multi-speed pumps. Do people change pump speeds during operation or is this to provide installer flexibiliy. AND what are you guys talking about installing some sensor line in the trench. Haven't completely covered up the PEX so if I need to lay a small sensor line for whatever reason I can do it now. Why would I need to communcate between the house and the boiler barn if the boiler is controlled based on the return water. The trenching job was miserable. Will tell you guys how I did it after I get some temp loss measurements. If its good or bad I let you know the results of my approach. thanks in advance for your inputs.
  4. Tony H

    Tony H New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Loc:
    N Illinois
    Not sure what sensor people are using but while you have the trench open you might want to lay a couple runs of CAT5 , coax, romex or anything else you might need in the future for control , camera, alarm, power , phone or whatever.
  5. Nofossil

    Nofossil Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,422
    Loc:
    Addison County, Vermont
    I'd lay in some cheap 1" black plastic pipe - never know what you might want to run through there.
  6. sgschwend

    sgschwend New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Loc:
    PNW
    What ever pipe you install in the trench, be sure and tape the ends securely shut. A little bit or gravel pulled down that pipe can cause quite a jam.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page