Punky Wood Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sandie

Feeling the Heat
Hearth Supporter
Oct 29, 2009
West of Boston, MA
I have some wood that has been in my yard for a number of years so probably out of energy or am I wrong? Can I use it and if so is there any problem if it is too old? Rotted wood is the same as burned wood is what I have read but this is not rotted just really old and light in weight so will it be good for kindling or ??? I am sorry for dumb questions but I am really wanting to be knowledgeable and do the right thing. I am new to all of this( who knew) but do not want to make big mistakes. IF punky wood is good enough then I have some that I was going to dump and will use it.

I'm waiting to see what someone adds who knows because I have the same question.

I have just been burning it when I find a piece. I put it in with a load of 'ok' wood and it seems to burn just fine too. Don't know what a whole load of the stuff would do on it's own though.

We mix "punky" wood with "good" wood. It burns up very fast so is good on the start up fire and shoulder season burning. I know of no hazard but maybe someone will beg to differ...

They would be all over this in "the wood shed" forum, maybe try to post the same question there?

If it's not rotten, probably ok to burn. If it's light, as you said, probably not wet, either. Just try some. If it does ok, just use it all up.

I try to avoid burning punky wood if I have a choice. It tends to smoke and smolder a lot and it holds moisture like a sponge. Burns like a punk.