Put 'em in order

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

What do I burn and in what order?

• I didn't know y'all burned wood down there

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

pulldownclaw

Feeling the Heat
Mar 2, 2007
Richmond, Va
So, second year in as an "informed" wood burner, and I'm still learning. I now realize after much time here that prevailing wisdom is at least 12 months drying time for split wood. However, last Spring I split up some pine and red maple. I'm starting with a face cord of older pine right now for my intermittent fires since it hasn't gotten cold yet, but once I start burning in earnest next month what would you start with? FWIW I think I burn about 2+ cords a year.

Probably all about the same dryness, except the yellow pine may be further along. Burn the pine first, before it gets too cold. Mapel can be mixed with either. by the time January hits, that oak will be in much better shape, and something like oak will be nice to be burning in the cold January months, though I don't think you really know much about cold in Richmond :coolsmirk:

Depending on how small you split the oak and maple you run the risk of those two needing a little more time. I probably would not exclusively burn the pine now but rather use the pine as the igniter pieces with maple in the warmer weather and the oak as it gets colder.

I'm going with the Pine. How cold does it get down there in Richmond???? Been down that way during the summer months...never in the burn season.