1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Quadra-Fire Castile has no Call Light

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Sue Lupo, Oct 15, 2013.

  1. Sue Lupo

    Sue Lupo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    Massachusetts
    Hello, this is my first post...I have a 5 yr old Quadra-fire Castile, used only in the spring and fall. I just had it professionally cleaned (do the normal stuff myself) and the next day after it ran about 6 hrs it stopped when the hopper got low on pellets and it hasn't started since. No matter what I do there is no call light coming on. Snap disk #3 does not appear tripped. Power comes on when I plug it in, the blue light blinks but that is it.
    (I used to fix computers so I pulled out my meter to check things...)
    Here's what I've done so far-
    1. Vacuumed out the hopper (it was full when the guy came)
    2. Cleaned the igniter
    3. Jumpered the thermostat to test
    4. Cleaned the control box contacts and reseated
    5. Tested continuity to snap disk #3 and across it (fine)
    I am out of ideas short of ordering a new control box
    Any ideas are much appreciated!
    Thanks...

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. peirhead

    peirhead Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Loc:
    PEI Canada
    what happened when you jumpered your thermostat?...also check your vacuum switch...apparently the auger needs to be full of pellets in order for sufficient vacuum to build up since the vacuum tube terminates in the auger tube.
  3. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,926
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    peirhead has two excellent questions. I can confirm his second observation that you must have pellets in the hopper to get enough vacuum to pull in the switch. BUT no call light is the big clue. Did, as he asked, the call light come on when you shorted between the two contacts? If not, then you are back to the thermostat. Mine will not come on if my batteries in the thermostat are old and too weak to pull in the on-board relay. Had that happen last fall. Push the reset button a few times to make sure that its contacts are making OK. The light goes out when you push in the button. Maybe it's stuck open. It's a NC switch.
  4. Sue Lupo

    Sue Lupo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    Massachusetts
    Thanks to both for your replies. When I jumpered the thermostat nothing happened, still no call light. By this time the hopper had some pellets, but was not filled much. I did not look at the vacuum switch but I will now. I've sent out a call for help to my handy brother-in-law and he is stopping by tonight to take a look.. I hope to have better news after he takes a look...I'll be back tomorrow with a response. Thanks again!
  5. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,926
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Hope your B-in-law got you going. If not, you said you jumpered the thermostat. Does that mean you shorted the two wires together at the thermostat or put a jumper between the two terminals on the stove? We've had several people find that the wire running from the thermostat to the stove was broken, usually because it was run under a carpet at a doorway or similar situation.
    Remember to NEVER remove or replace the control box with the stove plugged in. It can destroy it. (Hope that isn't too late of advice)
  6. DMKNLD

    DMKNLD Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    Loc:
    Monmouth, ME
    Sue,

    An excellent message board site to go to for Quadrafire stove troubleshooting is on iburncorn.com, http://www.iburncorn.com/index.php/forum/34-quadrafire . Kap is a Quadrafire tech who monitors that forum, and he is most helpful and knowledgeable about all Quad related issues.
  7. Sue Lupo

    Sue Lupo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    Massachusetts
    Gentleman, it took a couple more days for my help to arrive but my brother-in-law found the problem (which I had missed, despite checking).
    The thermostat wire at the thermostat end was indeed broken inside the casing. (I've fired myself as a diagnostician!). The stove call light came up when he correctly jumpered the connections, he then repaired the wiring and we were back in business.

    I have to say that I am not sorry this happened as I have a much better understanding of the workings of the stove and it was good for me to work on it and try to learn about it. I'll be in much better shape for the next problem.

    Thanks for the help and tips on the iburncorn site. I'm sure I'll be there in the future!
  8. Bioburner

    Bioburner Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3,755
    Loc:
    West central Mn
    That was cheap enough. Tough on the ego though. Stay warm
  9. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,926
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    I'm glad you are up and running! Next time, when you jumper the thermostat, you've learned to do it at the stove. ;em Have a nice WARM day!

Share This Page