Quadra Fire Castille (new) - I think I'm having a "bridging" problem or a "clogging" problem and I n

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Xian

Dec 31, 2009
Pittsburgh, PA
Hi all. I'm sorry for the elementary nature of this post, but I'm very new at this.

I started burning a new Quadra Fire Castille Insert in November. I only burn it at night after I get home from work, so I've been using only about 5 pounds of pellets a day. I would drop in a half-gallon each night before I started the stove and then I'd turn the stove off before they all burned down (in other words, my hopper never really emptied itself out). I was using pellets I got at Home Depot. Everything was great until last week.

Last week I ran out of the Home Depot pellets and I bought 10 bags of a new brand of pellets at Sam's club. The pellets seem to be bigger and "harder" than the ones I was using at Home Depot. The Home Depot pellets never exceeded 3/4" in length and crumbled easily when pressed. These others sometimes get up to 1" or 1.25" and don't crumble as easily.

Now, my stove sometimes stops feeding pellets. Sometimes I fire up the stove and no pellets are fed to ignite the fire. I don't even hear the feed mechanism making any effort at all. I have to remove most of the pellets from the hopper and hit reset every few minures for about 10-15 minutes total and then it randomly begins to operate.