1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

quadrafire 1000 auger problem

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by paragon, Jan 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paragon

    paragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    CO
    I have a quadrafire 1000 and lately it will only start if i manually put in some pellets t grt it started after it starts it will run normally then on the next startup cycle it will not start until i put pellets in the metal pot,,,, I vacuumed the auger track and the motor is leaking grease should i replace the motor or might it be a sensor?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. GVA

    GVA Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,140
    Loc:
    Waxhaw, NC... Formerly North shore Mass
    Bad proof of fire switch?
    Don't know for certain, the quad pro's will be here soon....
  3. paragon

    paragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    CO
    the fire never starts because it never augers any pellets
    you have to kind of jump start it with a handfull of pellets
  4. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    I thought you had the model number wrong till I searched it. Never seen one of those before.

    So let me get this right, when you first call for heat the auger will not turn at all. And then you toss in some pellets and the igniter lights them up. Then onces you get a small fire the controls take over and the auger start going?
  5. paragon

    paragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    CO
    the auger will turn at first i watched it but not enough pellets come out maybe one to three pieces
  6. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    Could be a vacuum switch problem or it might just be the motor. Since the auger motor is leaking grease out of it that might be the problem.

    You could try bypassing the vacuum switch as a test. Unplug the stove, then find the vacuum switch. It will have a hose going from it to a hose barb on the auger tube. Take the two wires off it and jumper them together. This will have 110v going through it when you plug it back in so be careful. Plug it back in and give it a try.

    The vacuum switch is a safety switch so if this fixed it you need to figure out if the switch is broken or maybe the tube and barb just need to be cleaned out.
  7. paragon

    paragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    CO
    thank i will try it
  8. paragon

    paragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    CO
    WELL THAT FIXED ME TAKING THE VACUUM SWITCH OUT OF THE LOOP,, BUT WHAT IS MY NEXT COURSE OF ACTION? I ORDERED A AUGER MOTER AND A NEW VACUUM SWITCH

    PUTTING A LITTLE SUCK ON THE SWITCH DOES MAKE IT CONDUCT WITH AN OHMMETER ( THE OLD ONE)

    WHAT ELSE?
  9. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,031
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Examine the air tube for any cracks or leaks. Also check the door seal to be sure it isn't leaking. If it is leaking, a new switch won't fix the problem.
  10. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    Do as BeGreen said, you might not need a new vac switch. Blow the tube out and clean out the hose barb welded to the auger tube with a small alan or screwdriver. Check all over for air leaks, ash pan, door gasket. If it gets too much air in there it can loose the vacuum.
  11. paragon

    paragon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    CO
    sounds good do you know off hand what size the door gasket is?
  12. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    Its probably a tadpole gasket, in which case you should order it from Quad.
  13. GVA

    GVA Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,140
    Loc:
    Waxhaw, NC... Formerly North shore Mass
    And make sure you have good flow through the exhaust as well.....
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page