question about pellets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ggmiii74

Oct 5, 2016
Illinois
Has anyone heard of marth wood pellets? I can get them locally at a big box store for $4 a bag, or drive 4 hours round trip for somersets for $4.50 a bag. I'm new to pellet stoves, but from what I've read the somersets are a good pellet.

I would suggest trying a few bags of each to see how they burn for you. Marths are made in Wisconsin. IIRC not a bad pellet but not exceptional either. I tried them a few years ago but the Spruce Points and Lacretes are better pellets (and higher priced) but brought in locally.

Are they softwood or hardwood?

Has anyone heard of marth wood pellets? I can get them locally at a big box store for $4 a bag, or drive 4 hours round trip for somersets for $4.50 a bag. I'm new to pellet stoves, but from what I've read the somersets are a good pellet.
To me Marth pellets were to long and would bridge in the hopper. I prefer Indeck as a inexpensive pellet. They are pretty consistent 3/4 inch long and a hardwood. they probably have more ash then Somersets but emptying a ash bucket is easy for me.
Marth and Indeck were both hardwood and same price at Menards.

The Marth pellets do come in both wood types but can't remembered what I tried...

I have a bag of the Marth, bought it to test the stove. It says 100% hardwood on the bag. I've been doing some research and haven't seen the Marth mentioned so I wanted to ask