Question on reloads

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Wilbursan

Jan 29, 2014
Upper Alabama
This is my first year burning a wood stove so I'm a newbie. I don't heat with wood as my primary heat, usually just evenings and maybe weekends (i.e., when I'm home). So I don't usually need to reload. The other day I did and did not get a good result. There was a pretty hot bed of coals left and I put a large, single split right on top. It lit right up, I let it go a few minutes and turned the air down as the temperature reached about 400 or so. I thought everything was fine, lots of flames shooting out from the bottom of the wood which I took to be a good thing. After about 15-20 minutes on a lark I went outside and checked the chimney and there was a ton of smoke coming out. I quickly turned the front and back air up and got a really good rolling flame going, filling the whole firebox. I checked the chimney again and it's still smoking, about 1/2 as much. I eventually got it down to a minimal amount of smoke with stove top well over 500 and the fan blowing on medium, but it wasn't cold enough for me to keep running it like that.

So what's a good strategy for reloads with minimal smoke?

You loaded on too hot a coal bed, and you'll get that as the piece you threw on had a ton of heat to pyrolize it. You have it figured out already, either wait till that coal bed died down to add more, or use that single split to help burn down the coal bed and give you heat by giving it enough air to get the job done (don't close the air down so far).