Question on Vermont Castings wood stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sean b

Oct 19, 2015
Central PA
Hello all, newbie here with question I couldn't get answered by the dealer. If anyone's familiar with the Vermont Castings Encore 1450 non cat wood stove, I'd appreciate some feedback. There's a part inside the stove called the fountain assembly, which sits behind the lower refractory. With the damper closed, it channels the smoke output up, down and then back up again through a bit of a maze, before exiting out through the flu collar and chimney connector. At the top of the fountain assembly on each side, where the smoke first rises before being directed downward again, the material is worn/burnt away. My questions are: is this mainly an emissions concern or also safety-related? If it needs repaired/replaced, could I fabricate a cap for each side made out of fire brick? I called the dealer and got almost nothing for technical expertise. They were only interested in selling a $300 replacement part. Which I'll buy if I absolutely have to. It's just that I have no idea how significant this issue is. The stove is only about 5 years old so this seems odd that I should have to be replacing a part like that already. Gaskets, yes.... But this? Please help.

Parts diagram and list are on pages 32 & 33 if interested in advising. http://www.fergusonfireplace.com/30002425_Encore_NC_1450.pdf

Thanks!