Questions about connecting my fireplace stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mj5001

Oct 15, 2011
United States
In an effort to avoid (2) 90 degree elbows, wouldn't it better (if it can be done) -- to do as much of a straight shot as possible? I want to put my stovepipe up my fireplace chimney.

I
I______
I
I < 90

Do they make some sort of flexible stovepipe? Or, 45 degree elbows? If I used 45's I could do pretty much a straight shot.

Im not an expert but I have ever seen flexing stove and I don't think it would be a good idea. I used two 45's to make it between the joists and it work out nice.

I am not familiar with flex pipe for wood stoves, but there may be some. I agree that if you can work two 45s with the horizontal run sloping upward, you will have much better draft. That is what I did. Your situation may not allow it if there isn't room, but check it out. You may want to go with an adjustable length of pipe to connect the two 45s. Again, I had to. My setup works great though.

It's my understanding that flex pipe is not meant to be exposed, that's why they call it a liner intstead of pipe. I believe that you can run hard pipe to the chimney then convert to flex. I ran flex up my chimney and my observations were that although very strong it is thin. It can easily be damaged if exposed.

I need a 6" tee for my stove -- guess it is mandatory that you use one? Anyway, why are they so pricey? 70 bucks and higher?

I know stainless is expensive but where are the best prices? -- thanks