1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Questions about out side air and vent type for Mt. Vernon Ae insert.

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Rowdysdad, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri
    Anyone have any suggestions or experience with the OAK (outside air kit) for a Mt. Vernon AE insert?

    Because of the way my fireplace was built, the only option I have is to run the OAK and flue out the top of my masonry flue. The flue is located in the center of the house.I currently have a combination 3 inch flex with 3 inch double wall pipe vent that is 18ft long. I'm thinking that while I am installing the OAK I might as well change out the vent to a 4 inch system.

    Should I fabricate the chimney top termination for both pipes (suggestions/ideas appreciated) or could you suggest a good (reasonable) place online to get one?

    Did you use the factory OAK or fabricate your own? Did you use aluminum flex or some other type piping? What size?

    I also need suggestions on what type (flex or double wall) for the 4 inch and where online would be a good place to purchase the kit?

    What needs to be done, if anything, with the unsealed uninsulated damper area where the oak and flue will be going thru?

    Any and all suggestions, photos, diagrams or comments greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Defiant

    Defiant Vermont Castings Geek

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,109
    Loc:
    Old Lyme CT
    Welcome Rowdyday, there is a top vent kit that lets the OA (outside air) in thru. Can't find it now, do a search mounts on the top of chimney under the the cap and plate.
  3. Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri
    Hi Defiant: I appreciate the welcome.

    Wish I had found this forum prior to changing inserts..........my bad........... I would have had the OA , the new vent and the other stuff ( that I'm not even aware of yet) installed when it was 60 degrees outside. Now its snowing. One thing about Missouri weather....if you don't like it, wait a couple days and it will change.

    I'll start searching for the top vent kit you mentioned.

    Thanks!
  4. Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri
    did a search....wound up wif nuttin. !!!
  5. Defiant

    Defiant Vermont Castings Geek

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,109
    Loc:
    Old Lyme CT
    I think it was an option for the Harman Accentra insert, a friend of mine got it for his install I helped him with, I will look later and try to contact him.
  6. Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri
    Thanks. I'm getting desperate.
  7. Defiant

    Defiant Vermont Castings Geek

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,109
    Loc:
    Old Lyme CT
  8. Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri
    Defiant;

    I looked up and printed the options for the Accentra and I'm comparing those with whats listed in the Mt. Vernon install manual.

    They are different.

    The Accentra shows 4 different options with two of those taking the combustion air from the living area.

    The Mt. Vernon shows only 2 options for combustion air. One with the oak exiting thru the top chimney plate, the other one using a horizontal pipe thru a wall.

    Thanks!
  9. Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri
    Because of the way my fireplace was built, the only option I have is to run the OAK and flue out the top of my masonry flue. The flue is located in the center of the house.I currently have a combination 3 inch flex with 3 inch double wall pipe vent that is 18ft long. I'm thinking that while I am installing the OAK I might as well change out the vent to a 4 inch system.

    Should I fabricate the chimney top termination for both pipes (suggestions/ideas appreciated) or could you suggest a good (reasonable) place online to get one?

    Did you use the factory OAK or fabricate your own? Did you use aluminum flex or some other type piping? What size?

    I also need suggestions on what type (flex or double wall) for the 4 inch and where online would be a good place to purchase the kit?

    What needs to be done, if anything, with the unsealed uninsulated damper area where the oak and flue will be going thru?

    Any and all suggestions, photos, diagrams or comments greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!
  10. Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri
    Anybody with experience on this setup?????????????

    Because of the way my fireplace was built, the only option I have is to run the OAK and flue out the top of my masonry flue. The flue is located in the center of the house.I currently have a combination 3 inch flex with 3 inch double wall pipe vent that is 18ft long. I'm thinking that while I am installing the OAK I might as well change out the vent to a 4 inch system.

    Should I fabricate the chimney top termination for both pipes (suggestions/ideas appreciated) or could you suggest a good (reasonable) place online to get one?

    Did you use the factory OAK or fabricate your own? Did you use aluminum flex or some other type piping? What size?

    I also need suggestions on what type (flex or double wall) for the 4 inch and where online would be a good place to purchase the kit?

    What needs to be done, if anything, with the unsealed uninsulated damper area where the oak and flue will be going thru?

    Any and all suggestions, photos, diagrams or comments greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!
  11. JohnnyG

    JohnnyG New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Loc:
    SE PA near Philly
    I got the same problem and like you, found this place too late. I will use the 3 inch exhaust liner that was installed with the store as my OAK. I'll install a new 4 inch exhaust and terminate both liners with a Dura-Vent DirectVent Pro Co-Linear Chimney System Top Termination Kit (or something like it.) http://www.efireplacestore.com/cpf-69456.html

    Good luck.
  12. Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri
    JohnnyG,

    Now that's the kinda info I'm looking for..........names and links are especially appreciated.

    Makes sense to use existing stuff if possible. What is your existing 3 " exhaust liner made of?

    I wonder if converting my existing double wall Dura-vent from vent to outside air supply is my best option. I can see where 2 flex pipes, one 4" stainless steel for the vent and one 3" aluminum for the outside air would work great in an enclosed chimney because the exhaust vent pipe would actually warm the incoming air. I would think the existing double wall Dura-vent pipe hooked to the air inlet would keep the incoming air cool. Would this be ok, or is the flex a better option?

    What are your plans for dealing with the damper area?

    Thanks for the reply. I really appreciate it.
  13. JohnnyG

    JohnnyG New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Loc:
    SE PA near Philly
    Many OAK's are vented directly out a side wall and are short run. They do not get a chance to heat the air so keeping your existing 3 inch and using it as a OAK should be fine. My 3 inch is flexible stainless and rated for corn, it is a bit thicker than what is needed for wood pellets. I'll go with the same thing for the 4 inch.

    I have considered stuffing some high temp insulation up the chimney but figured with the top plate being sealed, it is probable not really that big of a problem. I have seen a mortar type mix used for this purpose but I think that is too permanent. When I add the OAK, I'll see what I can come up with.
  14. Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri
    Makes sense on air temp. I would just clean it out good since it was used as a vent. Did you buy the Flex online? Where's a good(cheap) place to get it?

    Sounds like a plan. Thanks for the reply.
  15. JohnnyG

    JohnnyG New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Loc:
    SE PA near Philly
    I was concerned with moving a 500 lb stove across my floor and on to the mantle so I had the stove installed by an installer, he supplied everything.

    There are a bunch of online providers out there. Many have a phone number that you can call for advice. You might check with several and don't forget to look (search) here.
  16. Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri
    Ok, thanks again!
  17. hearthnleisure

    hearthnleisure Dave

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Loc:
    Haverhill, NH

    FYI the part that you quoted here is a Direct vent product designed for use with 2 aluminum liners for a natural gas/propane installation.
  18. JohnnyG

    JohnnyG New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Loc:
    SE PA near Philly
    Yes, that is why I put the or something like it comment in there. I have seen the same type of device made of stainless steel that can be used with stoves. But thanks for catching that so I could clarify.

    -G
  19. Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri
    Hearthnleisure.

    Thanks for pointing that out. When I opened the link I also noticed and understood that it was for a gas/propane application.

    I appreciate your reply.
  20. Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri
    JohnnyG.

    I'm still searching for what I should be using in stainless but thanks' again for the your reply and the link you provided.
  21. hearthnleisure

    hearthnleisure Dave

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Loc:
    Haverhill, NH
    I would look more closely at the Harman part that "Defiant" recommended. It sounds like that would take care of what you are trying to do. Part #1-00-674104 should be able to be had at your local Harman dealer for under $100 and is all stainless steel. You will need a block off plate at your damper frame with either your 3" or 4" exhaust running all the way up and out of the chimney as well as a cold air supply (3" should work) that extends above the block off plate into the smoke shelf area.
  22. JohnnyG

    JohnnyG New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Loc:
    SE PA near Philly
  23. Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri
    hearthnleisure,

    I did look at that part online but I intend to check it out as a possibility at my local Harman/Quadra-fire dealer. Also thanks for your advise on the damper area. Am I correct in assuming the cold air supply pipe can be 3" aluminum flex whether I run it all the way to the top or if I just take it past the smoke shelf area?

    I appreciate your reply.
  24. Rowdysdad

    Rowdysdad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Loc:
    The beautiful Ozarks. SW Missouri

Share This Page