ranch style, pellet heat

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

joed2323

Oct 18, 2014
United States
How's it going guys, I have been following this forum for awhile but finally decided to say hi. I recently moved to the oil fields of north Dakota where I am a diesel mechanic and keep oil tankers rolling for a well established company.. Enuf about me....

I live in a 1 story open style ranch, the living room, family room and kitchen,dinning area is the open part, their is 5 bedrooms off from the open concept. 2200sf

I realize the bedrooms will probably be the cold areas.

I'm looking at a pelpro pp130 for my first stove.

I do have experience maintaining pellet stove, where I previously worked we had a Harman. It was the biggest model they made and it thru out some heat but it was on a 14,000 sf shop and it mostly took the edge off and ran thru pellets as fast as we could fill them.

I would rather not spend 4k on a stove being first stove.

Im looking for Good/decent stove that will do the job, and I plan on hooking up some kind of battery unit maybe 2-4 deep cycle batts for when the power will go out. This is my Main concern I want battery backup warmth and I want to heaty house with wood pellets.

Thanks guys I know I rambled on

I heat 1800 sqft with a St Croix Hastings. My floor plan sounds similar to yours. My stove is connected to APC XS1500 with 2 90ah marine batteries wired in which will give me 8 hours of runtime in a power failure.