RE: Oil change opinions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

firefighterjake

Minister of Fire
Jul 22, 2008
Unity/Bangor, Maine
I change out the oil in my WRX religiously every 3000-5000 miles as most owners recommend doing so due to the turbo and possible issues with bearings.

The other day I changed the oil and then looked at my wife's Legacy and was mildly surprised to see that it's been close to a year since I did the oil in her car.

Now before you think I am a terrible mechanic (which I am incidentally) I should add that I did the 12,000 mile maintenance at 11,500 back in 2016 and now, almost a year later, she is up to a whopping 14,500 or so miles -- well below the recommended 6,000 mile oil change interval, but well over the "or six months" interval.

Since she was out of work for so long and then landed a local job with a 10 minute commute she just didn't put on the mileage.

So here's my question: just how bad is it to not adhere to the time interval vs. the mileage interval. I mean to say I can completely understand the mileage as a moving vehicle = wear and tear on the engine and the oil being actively filtered. However, an unmoving, unstarted car would not have any wear and tear, right?

I wouldn't be terribly concerned, the short commute would be the only worry if it doesn't get up to operating temp.

Sitting is mostly a concern because with temperature swings you'll get condensation. Parked in a garage is better but it can still happen.

My parents have a similar distance and we change theirs once a year for the last 5 years and it still runs great for a nearly 300k engine.