Remove it? Replace it? Enclose it?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

TravisR

Aug 10, 2023
Oregon
Hi everyone,

Sorry for posting as a total noob.

We bought a house in western Oregon last year and it has a wood stove in our family room that we'll likely never use, but that also prevents us from using that room like we want to use it.

We would love to move our TV in there, but it only really makes sense to put a tv right where the stove pipe comes up and goes into the wall. I've been trying to figure out if I could just remove it, if I could:

1. Replace it with something lower profile that I could build into a fireplace with an enclosed chimney, so the TV could be above it. I don't even know what the options would be.
2. Remove it altogether. It seems like the hearth is just laid on top the wood floors, is that possible? If so, would it be possible to remove?
3. Build a mantle and chimney around it, replacing the pipe with something that could be enclosed and preferably closer to the wall.

Any suggestions?

IMG_1108.jpeg IMG_1109.jpeg

It looks like the stove is on a hearth pad. If so it may lift right up off the floor.

However, I would not change anything the first year. You may find the stove is A) needed for power outages, B) better at heating the house C) cost effective in very cold weather and D) the fire view is better than TV. Just be sure you have a good supply of fully seasoned firewood on hand. Poorly seasoned wood can equal disappointing performance and a lot of creosote buildup.