Repairing a Cawley LeMay 600

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Pierceab

Mar 6, 2022
Waltham, MA
I’m new to Hearth.com. I would be grateful for advice from Cawley-LeMay owners.

I’ve used a Cawley LeMay 600 since we bought our house in 1984 and found one already installed. I don’t think I realized right away what a treasure this stove is, but I grew up with fire: my grandparents cooked over an open hearth in their cottage in Co. Tipperary, and my parents burned coal in their fireplace in the city. I’ve used my CL 600 pretty heavily over the years. I became aware that one of the inner side plates had cracked, but I thought I would have to take it apart to replace the plate, and since I didn’t trust myself to do this (and couldn’t find anyone locally in Waltham, MA), I cut back on the size of the fires and crossed my fingers.

Finally one of the plates broke in two, dropping the baffle and the ignition grid into the bottom of the stove. I assumed that this was the end of the line and starting looking for a new wood stove (which was a depressing experience). Then I happened to come across a post on this site from last year suggesting that it’s possible to obtain replacement parts—and to install the side plates and the grid/baffle without taking the stove apart. (Another post suggested that it might be best to do a “teardown and rebuild”—which is beyond my ability.)

I’d be grateful for any information that members can provide about replacement parts, persons or companies who work with wood stoves in my area (MA 02452), and inspection, codes, or manuals.

Many thanks.

Reactions: D. Hermit