1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Resolute Griddle Gasket

Post in 'Vermont Castings & CDW Dutchwest older Models' started by magwa999, Dec 3, 2012.

  1. magwa999

    magwa999 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Cape Breton, NS
    First time poster. Wondering if the gasket for the griddle top has to be the one from VC? Can I put a regular gasket on? I live in Nova Scotia and the one at the only place they sell them is $35. I found one the same size but not metal coated for $10. Any reason not to use the $10 one? I don't mind replacing every year but the ones I have bought on ebay don't seem to last. Love my stove and its an old one that I picked up for $200 and don't think the people knew how to use it, in excellent condition, like new.
    Thanks and great forum.
    John in Cape Breton

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. fire_man

    fire_man Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,464
    Loc:
    Eastern Ma
    The griddle gasket for the VC Resolute is metal because it takes a beating from the griddle/top loading door. Constant rubbing from closing the griddle deteriorates standard gaskets quickly.

    The standard rope gaskets work for a while but the metal jacketed gaskets last MUCH longer (multiple seasons).
  3. jharkin

    jharkin Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Loc:
    Holliston, MA USA
    Just MHO, I never had good luck getting a good dollar bill seal using the wire gaskets. I switched to regular rope and bet much better performance and a more controllable stove. I just live with changing it every 2 years.
  4. magwa999

    magwa999 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Cape Breton, NS
    Thanks to the both of you. I am going to try the regular one that I got for $8 compared to $35 and again don't mind changing even if I had to every year. Just wanted to check and make sure.
    Thanks a lot and love the forum and the stove.
  5. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,998
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    $35? Just find a hearthshop that sells gasket. 5/16" armor is what you need for ALL VC griddles. Sells around here for $3 a foot. You should be able to fix that Resolute for less than $10. Of course you'll need a $5 tube of cement to adhere the gasket, but $35?
  6. fire_man

    fire_man Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,464
    Loc:
    Eastern Ma
    VC parts are obscenely expensive. I'm not surprised.
  7. jharkin

    jharkin Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Loc:
    Holliston, MA USA
    Maybe the prices are higher in Canada, but my local stove shop carries the VC brand entire stove gasket kits for around $20.
  8. magwa999

    magwa999 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Cape Breton, NS
    Yes it is because I am in Canada. I did buy a couple through ebay for around $20. I put the regular gasket in which costs $7 and will see how ling it lasts. It fit great and much better than the VC one. I did find the VC wire gasket on the internet for $2 a foot but they don't ship to Canada. If I have to change it every year that wold be ok with me. Thanks everyone for all your help and will let you know how it works out.
  9. sticks

    sticks Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Loc:
    Central IN
    I was told years ago by a really knowledgeable vc tech that the armaseal gasket was there for another reason. He said the wire was actually there to let a small amount of air in to the stove. The theory was that smoke would build up and slowly leak out and have a smoke smell. He what they did at first was take a small chunk of gasket out toallow air in. I know it sounds strange but the guy manned their phones through most of the 80's and worked there earlier than that. I wouldn't gap it at the start but just keep it in mind if you smell any extra smoke

Share This Page