1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

resolute III included in my new home

Post in 'Vermont Castings & CDW Dutchwest older Models' started by gail a elkins, Jul 4, 2012.

  1. gail a elkins

    gail a elkins New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    resolute III vermont casting in my new place, need info on how thermostat control ,located upper rear back operates. the chain and metal spring aren't attached and lying on top of the stove. unable to locate info in the owner manuals available online. thanks.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. PapaDave

    PapaDave Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5,740
    Loc:
    Northern MI - in the mitten
  3. Wood Heat Stoves

    Wood Heat Stoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,901
    Loc:
    Nevada City, California
    The thermostat on the Vermont Castings Resolute III is a bi-metallic damper (the spring) that expands and contracts with the heat attached to the air control by a chanin. This opens and closes the air control in reponse to the temperature of the stove to keep in burning generally in the temperature range you've set it to with the lever attached to the spring. The manual is no longer available on Vermont Castings website but I found this other link-

    http://www.fergusonfireplace.com/Defiant_Vig_Res_Intre_Pre88-0029.pdf
  4. gail a elkins

    gail a elkins New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2

    new question: my resolute model is older, does not have the air control at the bottom front, only has damper control OPEN?CLOSED on left upper side. how do i control air flow in the stove?
  5. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,805
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Download the manual that Wood Heat provided the link for, not the Acclaim manual. There is no front air control on the older Resolutes. Page 3 shows how the rear thermostatic air control is connected and how it works.
  6. defiant3

    defiant3 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Loc:
    No. NH
    Best stove V.C. ever made, but find a good local stove guy, not just a chimney sweep. It should probably have the smoke chamber cleaned out, which can only be done by removing the firebabk and stuff. Betcha that thermo. needs to be drilled and tapped too, that's why it's sittin' there.
  7. Woody Stover

    Woody Stover Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,799
    Loc:
    Southern IN
    My BIL has a Resolute III. Neat stove, and it pumps out the heat. Once the thermo is installed, the chain attaches to the primary air intake. You just flip the lever to open the air intake flap and get the stove up to temp. Then cut the air back to maintain the temp you want to see on your stove top and/or flue thermo (both of which you'll be buying soon.) ==c I think the max stove top temp they recommended in BIL's manual was 700* F. You also have the little hand-operated air flap in the lower left-hand corner of the left side, right? That supplies air to the base of the fire through the small holes in the fireback inside the stove. This was to promote a "horizontal burn" with the damper in the closed position, pulling the smoke along the base of the fire to exit low through the right wall inside the firebox. This was an early attempt to get a cleaner burn by re-burning the smoke. It also pulls more heat out of the exhaust by routing it through the wall of the stove. BIL's stove was made in 1980. I glanced quickly at the links posted but none looked identical to BIL's Res III manual.
  8. Woody Stover

    Woody Stover Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,799
    Loc:
    Southern IN
    You will have to burn the stove pretty hot, around 500 stove top I would think, or you will be smoke-bombing the neighborhood... :oops: You'll be able to cut the air back later in the load, as the smoke output decreases. With some experimentation and watching the chimney outside, you'll figure out how to operate the stove cleanly and efficiently.
  9. dafattkidd

    dafattkidd Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,569
    Loc:
    Sound Beach, LINY
    My Father in Law has a coal/wood Resolute. He's had it for 30 years and still loves it. The only issue is replacement parts are expensive and hard to come by. He cleaned it and repainted it last year. It looks brand new.

    Thumba_2011-12-31_02-36-29.jpg
  10. infinitesign

    infinitesign New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Loc:
    maine
    Does this stove have the combustion package thing that I have been reading about that needs replacing each year? It is made out of some material that deteriorates quickly. Also, the screw on the left panel of mine has a stripped head. Any recommendations on getting that out in order to move on and remove the back plate?
  11. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,805
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    No the original VC (Resolute, Vigilant, Defiant) stoves did not have any combustion package.
  12. SPGriffin

    SPGriffin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Loc:
    New Hampshire
    Hello all - I just aquired a property with a resolute III i believe - to the left of the left fireplace door on the front of the stove is a plug or screw turned in - regular screwdriver screw. Does anyone know what it's purpose is?
  13. defiant3

    defiant3 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Loc:
    No. NH
    There used to be a coal kit available for the Resolute. The plug you see would be removed to allow the shaker rod to be installed.
    Woody Stover likes this.

Share This Page