1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Scandia 900 (Franklin Cast Products, Inc.)

Post in 'Classic Wood Stove Forums (prior to approx. 1993)' started by gumbymager, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. gumbymager

    gumbymager New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    I know from researching online that the Scandias are very unpopular. I know the company went out of business, the reasons, etc. But, these are the ones I have. We bought this house 8 years ago, and there is a Scandia 900 in the living room upstairs, and a Scandia 315 in the family room downstairs. We didn't use them for years, and just last year, I decided to try and use them. I have a booklet for the Scandia stoves, but it is for 11 models, one of which is my Scandia 315, which I haven't had any problems with, but I have nothing for the Scandia 900. It is different enough that I am not sure how to use the 900 properly. Does anyone have ANY idea if there is any paperwork for the 900, or some advice on how to use it? I get wood going, but it doesn't last long. The front of the 900 has glass inserts. Some were broken so I removed them, so now it's just a screen with no glass behind it. I figured since the one downstairs works with the front doors open and just a screen, this one should work the same, but it doesn't seem to. I can't find replacement glass for it anywhere.

    any help/advice would be greatly appreciated (other than to get rid of it, which really isn't an option right now, and I would like to use it).

    thanks,

    Cathy

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. gumbymager

    gumbymager New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    perhaps it would help if I included a picture....

    Attached Files:

  3. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,338
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    This is a copy of the Efel Kamina, a stove made in Belgium.

    Scandia probably sold very few of these - so finding paperwork may be tough.
  4. gumbymager

    gumbymager New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    thank you, actually, using the Efel Kamina info, I was able to find some diagrams and such online.
  5. Bone1099

    Bone1099 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    Loc:
    Northwest GA
    if you arent too hung up on glass you could have a local fab shop cut some steel to fit the opening. just pur the steel in place of the glass and paint it.
  6. HaTaX

    HaTaX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    82
    Loc:
    Minnesota
    If you'd like to get glass for it, there are a few places online that custom cut the high temp clear ceramic to fit, you just need dimensions. One place I saw said length x width x $0.75 for the cost, so it shouldn't be too horrid to get some for it. Honestly without any glass it's not going to do much for heat, stoves need to be airtight to extract the most heat from the wood and to get a reasonable burn time from it. Try googling "wood stove glass ceramic" and you should find some links to sites that will custom cut it for you. If you're going to run it for more then a season, it will be well worth it to seal it up.
  7. Headymusk

    Headymusk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Loc:
    Ohio
    Hi! I have a Scandia I am using now. My brother bought it back in '79 and I have it now. I got tired of replacing the glass slats, @ $12 each, and went with a solid piece of ceramic from Woodland Direct and the measurement I used was 24"x7-3/4". I also installed a manual damper on my chimney. The glass was easy to install. I also replaced all gaskets possible short of taking it apart at the bolts and screws. The rope gasket size was 5/8". I used my stove all winter and never touched my propane furnace. I am looking for a new blower for it as mine froze up a few days back. It is proving to be some kind of undertaking! Good Luck!!!

Share This Page