Size of splits for a Wood Gun E100 S.S. gasification boiler

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

infinitymike

Minister of Fire
Aug 23, 2011
Long Island, NY
This is my first time burning with a gasification stove, in fact other then burning in a fireplace this my time burning to heat my house ever.

So I split almost 6 cord of wood. Now I'm second guessing the size.

Are they to big or to small?

What do ya think?

1002942.jpg

By infinitymike at 2011-09-29

1002941f.jpg

1002944q.jpg

1002943y.jpg

Split sizes are g-g-g-good Boss. How long has that wood been split and drying? What type of wood is it? If not seasoned properly. What do you have to mix with them? Any dry wood you could mix with them? Pallet wood, scraps from jobsite, etc. I bought a basic moisture meter from Lowe's just to check wood moisture content for my curiosity. I think I paid 28 bucks for it. Do that and check your wood just so you know. The only reason I am saying that is I seem to remember you got the wood not to long ago. If it is a higher moisture content, say 28% +, it may be good to mix some dryer wood scraps with it when you burn. T-t-t-t take it easy Boss.

Gasifier said: