smoke odor during slow burn

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RustyShackleford

Minister of Fire
Jan 6, 2009
NC
Hi, newbie here ... I have been heating with wood for about 33 years.
I have a Consolidated Dutchwest Federal "air tight" stove that is about
20 years old.

For the past few years, I have noticed a subtle smokey odor in my
house when I attempt a slow burn - specifically when I close the air
intake WAY down in order to keep coals going until the morning.

It's not enough smoke to bother the smoke alarms or CO monitor, or
to leave a residual odor in the house, but it IS aesthetically displeasing.

My chimney remains very clean - I clean it every 2-3 years but it
doesn't really seem to need it. The catalytic converter is pretty old
but still seems to light up well.

I'm wondering if the problem is simply that the stove is really old and
the seals between the cast plates have deteriorated. And if so, what to
do about it. I'm pretty handy, and replaced all the door/etc seals
awhile back, but I found that to be a big pain and assume replacing
the internal seals is quite a bit more involved.

Thanks !

The smoke may be from a bit of backpuffing as the air has been taken away from the burn.
I get some at times and it's usually not a big deal unless you get a big one.
Try closing your air down in stages as opposed to all at once.

When you are down to coals, it is time to open that draft, not close it!