Spend my money

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

NCPABill

Feb 10, 2011
NorthCentral PA
I looking to buy a "big" saw. I have Stihls, and a good Stihl dealer, so I'll stay with that brand. I'm looking for something that will pull a 24" to 25" bar in hardwood. Price, of course, is an object, and I'm not a pro, but I like mid-range or better saws. I've read reviews until my eyes ached - and everyone has something to say, but when it comes down to spending your money, spend my money - what would you buy?

Thanks,

Bill

460 is the first I would want and second would be 441, third would be a 362. Your going to need a pro saw to pull that bar, 391 could be the only option of a non-pro saw for what you want to do.

I'm read to step up and I've run big saws before, but I'm getting into some bigger trees and don't want to borrow. Everything I've run before was for someone else, and it was what was there, so there wasn't any selection. Do you think the 391 would pull full bar in hardwood? Most of the big stuff would be White Pine, with the occasional 20" hardwood.

Thanks for the votes so far.

Bill

+1 on what smokinjay wrote.

If you regularly bury a 24/25" bar in hardwood, go 70cc or larger.

Thanks to you all. List pricing is, with 20" bars, for comparison:

391 64cc 4.4hp 14# $560
362 59cc 4.6hp 13# $690
441 70cc 5.5hp 15# $870
460 76cc 6.0hp 15# $990