Spraying bug killer and weed killer on wood pile, OK or not???

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ksks

Oct 16, 2016
SW MO
Thanks for the forum. Looking to get some good advice. I'm a novice, so probably can't offer too much in the area.

Does anyone know if I could put termite poison and bug/spiker treatment on my wood pile.

Would that be a problem burning inside?

I did contact a retailer and he said none is labeled for that, but I don't know if it would actually be bad to do.

What I'm looking at are:

1. Termidor SC,
2. Talstar P (Talstar One)
3. Round- Up

Thanks,

ksks

I was just thinking about looking this up the other day. I actually do the same thing. I usually only spray Toro (I believe this is the name) bug spray on my wood pile. It is a good grade spray that is safe for humans once it is dry. It will be interesting to hear what the "pros" say about this.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Isn't Round-Up for weeds?

Not really sure, but I'm thinking regular treatment would be needed to be much effective, and with a once-only thing, bugs could still take up residence after effectiveness wears off. But I have no experience in doing it.

I don't think burning it would create issues - residue it leaves behind on what it touches or what touches it, maybe. Plus maybe what might make it to other critters.

EDIT: I see you do say weed killer in the title. Wondering why to spray a wood pile for weeds?

I just use the trimmer around the front, sides from time to time. You can also spread some mulch.