Stolen Wood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Therivermonster

Burning Hunk
Dec 10, 2013
Tacoma, WA
I'm just getting into the wood burning scene, and feeling very attached to the piles of wood that I have worked so hard for. I have started to wonder lately with this cold snap on the east side of the country lately, have any of you went out to the stacks to find some of your hard earned, well seasoned firewood missing/stolen?

I had some come up missing last summer, not much, 3 or 4 good arm loads, just enough to notice off of the one stack that was about 90% finished.

The neighbor lady stopped me when mowing the grass a few days later, and offered to pay for what her husband stole ;lol They are good people, and I've offered him firewood many times. Didn't care for the fact that he took it, as I would have rather given it to him (and would have given him considerably more) but since they really are great neighbors, it certainly wasn't something to lose any sleep over or waste time being concerned with.

I'm going to move this thread over to the wood shed.

pen

I don't think any was actually stolen, but last week someone knocked over one of my stacked pallets and kind of threw the wood around so I know it didn't just fall over. I have my suspicions on who it was, but whatever.

A few years back at a friends hunting camp, I asked why everybody had their wood ends painted ? To seal out moisture? Is this something new? He said , some low lifes would steal wood and having it painted you could tell it was not cut recently , it cut down on quite a bit of theft.