1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Stove fan wiring question

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Gardner, Sep 4, 2013.

  1. Gardner

    Gardner New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Hi all, I am replacing a nonworking rheostat for the fan on my Hearthstone Clydesdale. I have the part, and have the stove opened up, but I have a question about the wire connectors. They look like this:

    Woodstove wire.jpg


    I have never seen these before. Do I just pull them apart, take the old wires out, put the new ones in, and re-use them? Tried that, but they were very resistant to coming apart. Or do I need to cut the wires off them and get new ones? Or can I use the usual wire connectors that look like a toothpaste tube cap? (I will get the heat-resistant ones).

    Thank you in advance!

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Jags

    Jags Moderate Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    13,994
    Loc:
    Northern IL
    Did your new Rheo come with spade connectors on the ends of the wires, or just bare wires? The connector in the front (foremost) part of your pic is a spade connector and designed to come apart.

    ETA - if bare wires on the new rheo - cut the remaining spade connector off and use wire nuts (tooth paste cap looking things ;lol) You must strip ~ 3/8" of the plastic coating off of the wire.

    If it came with spade connectors terminating the wire, just unplug the old and plug in the new.
    Please unplug everything from the wall - I suspect that you are not well versed in wiring. Make darned sure you get the wiring correct. Fire and electricity can both kill you. Water makes you wet.;)

    Please proceed with the utmost caution.
  3. Gardner

    Gardner New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Hi, thanks for the reply. The new rheo just has bare wires. I will get the wire nuts to connect the wires, since you let me know that's OK to do. The stove is already unplugged from the wall. ;)

    You are right, I am no electrician! But I can connect wires (white to white, black to black) and replace things that have previously been installed by an electrician. I study what they did and replicate it exactly. I have repaired our gas stove, dishwasher, dryer, and other appliances by just replacing parts. I've replaced light fixtures and ceiling fans. Beyond this kind of replacing/copying, you are right, it is not a good idea to fool around with this stuff if you don't know what you're doing.

    I really appreciate your speedy and careful answer, thank you again.
  4. Jags

    Jags Moderate Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    13,994
    Loc:
    Northern IL
    Be aware that if you have to buy something to make this fix, it might be just as wise to buy the spade connector that mimics what is already there. They are cheap in small amounts and very easy to find. Then you simply crimp the spade connector to your bare wire and plug it back into the stove side. Easy peasy.
  5. RSNovi

    RSNovi Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Loc:
    Michigan
    I agree
  6. Gardner

    Gardner New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks, I will do that! I appreciate the help!

Share This Page