Stove temp?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sixman

Feeling the Heat
Hearth Supporter
Apr 12, 2010
Central Texas
I am new to wood burning as this will be my first winter with my Lopi Endeavor. I built a fire today today to burn off the new smell and knock the chill out of the air. What stovetop temp should I run at to prevent chimney buildup?

If you have good secondary ignition and no smoke from the flue, it is burning cleanly. I would shoot for the neighborhood of 450-600°F. But it is ok if the temps drop a bit lower once the fuel has turned completely to charcoal. It has outgassed at that point.

What is the magic number on the high side to stay under to keep from hurting my steel stove?

Travis, the maker of Lopi, says that temps off 800F or higher are considered over fire for the Endeavor.

Certainly below the temp that makes it glow red. :lol: That is a first class stove. It should be able to run at 650 all day long and be fine. Occasional spikes into the 700-750 range when it is in peak secondary combustion after a fresh, full charge of wood are ok.

My Endeavor is happiest around 650F. If I try, I can kinda force it to run a little lower, but with good wood and a decent size charge, it's just hard to keep it from cruising at 650F.