Stupid Question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Russo81

Mar 3, 2007
Im still new at burning wood and coal. Just got a 1981 russo coal/wood stove insert. Anyone have a problem with coal falling through grates? I get a nice fire going add some coal and then I would like to shake the grate but coal falls through and most of the time gets stuck, so i cant shake the great....i look in the ash pan and there are some nice size coal in it...?

Russo81 said:
Im still new at burning wood and coal. Just got a 1981 russo coal/wood stove insert. Anyone have a problem with coal falling through grates? I get a nice fire going add some coal and then I would like to shake the grate but coal falls through and most of the time gets stuck, so i cant shake the great....i look in the ash pan and there are some nice size coal in it...?

Hey Russo81,
I am not a coal burner but I think possibly you may be using the wrong sized coal for your stove. This is just a suggestion and a possibility.
John

Thanks maybe i am. I use nut coal...i thought that was what most coal stoves take......i dont know maybe ill try the next size up..like i said im still new at it....

Calling Craig to the lobby. Russo stove question on the front burner.