Summer Cleaning

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

learningasigoalong

Apr 10, 2012
Southern NH
Should I clean out my stove, Jotul f3, for the warm weather or is it ok to leave some stuff in it?

Well, others are going to tell you that you need to clean it out. But I have been burning for about 40 years and never clean mine out until the fall before I start burning again. Can't say it has done anything bad yet.

Should I clean out my stove, Jotul f3, for the warm weather or is it ok to leave some stuff in it?
If I were you I would clean the stove as well as the venting system. It is an easy stove to clean, and if you want the baffle tubes to last you should wipe them clean and spray with wd-40, pam or anything else that will prevent rust. Just my .02.

I say clean early as well.That way if any firebox parts need replacement, you'll have all summer to get your new parts.

I would clean it now while you're thinking about it instead of being reminded by the first cold snap when you need to use it. It also may keep some smells from getting into the house from creosote in the chimney. Not a big deal either way though.

I usually clean the stove in late May or June. That means cleaning out the ashes, checking the firebrick, checking the chimney, checking all the gaskets and also how tight or loose the door is. Getting it done after the heating season means you won't be scurrying around in the fall because some cold air is coming. You'll be ready to burn with nothing more than putting in wood and starting the fire.

Reactions: tfdchief