summers heat 50 snc 13lc vs lopi m520

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

santhony72

Oct 27, 2010
Peoria, IL
I am new to wood stoves and looking for some advise. My home has a Lopi M520 wood stove that is in good shape. Just a few minor problems with the blower is all we have experenced. We go through approx 3 chords of wood each winter and it seems like we are always having to load the fireplace with wood. I would say we get 1 hr to 2 hrs of burn time per load. I have been trying to locate an owners manual on the Lopi M520 to see if I am using the air dampers correctly but have been unsuccessful finding one.

I was looking at wood stoves at Lowes last week and I ended up purchasing a Summers Heat 50SNC13LC for $350.00 on sale. I am debating on installing this one in my home to replace the Lopi and either sell or move the Lopi into my garage. I am wanting to get some other opinions if this is a wise chioce to replace the Lopi of just replace the blower. I was hoping the new stove wood have a longer burn time to help reduce the amount of wood I use.

I am able to return the Summer Heat stove for another 10 days for a full refund.

That is one heckuva good price for that stove. Normally one doesn't see a price like that until Feb.. The SNC 13 will give good burn times and has a lot of happy users here. It is the same as the Englander 13NC. If you search on that you will find several threads.