tekmar 157 differential control

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

chuck172

Minister of Fire
Apr 24, 2008
Sussex County, NJ
I'm thinking of upgrading my tekmar 156 to the 157 model. I like the variable speed to the storage tank. Is anyone using this control?

I have been using the 157 for a couple of years. I was looking for the "silver bullet",you know the one that will let me burn one time a day and get 2 days worth heat but alas, no such luck yet. The control does a great job of pump speed control but does have a nasty habit of shutting off when return and supply temps are near the top of the curve. I had a second pump hooked to a aquastat that takes over when the tekmar controlled pump shuts off. As far as the variable speed goes seems to work great keeping output at desired delta T.
Steve

stihlwoody, after having experience with the 157, do you feel that charging your storage with the variable speed makes a big difference? I don't understand why your unit shuts off, would you go into more detail?
My tekmar 156 doesn't vary pump speed, just shuts the pump on or off. It did a great job, but the relay is sticking and if Tekmar honors their warranty I was thinking the extra $60.00 put towards the 157 might be worth it.