1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

The stove won't stay lit. Help!

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by MommyOf4, Dec 27, 2012.

  1. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I cleaned out my stove including the clean out tee, but now my stove won't stay lit. The pellets are feeding during the initial start up, but the fire dies down and won't feed even after I hit the reset button. Can anyone help me? I'm about to go crazy and I'm starting to regret my decision on getting a stove.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,466
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Sounds like the thermal couple isn't seeing the fire. Make sure the ceramic tube is all the way on and both the tube and the thermal are extending over the firepot. Could also be some ash build up on the thermal couple itself. Might need to carefully brush the wire and clean inside the ceramic tube(get all the ash out).

    I am sure a quad owner will be along to assist you shortly.
    The Ds likes this.
  3. LMPS

    LMPS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Loc:
    Coastal, Maine
    Try putting a handful of pellets in the burn pot after it auto cleans and is in start up. Just open the door and put a handful in. Sometimes it does not feed enough pellets and will shut down because the fire is not getting hot enough. If you put a hand full or so in sometimes you can trick the stove and then it will run normal.
    MommyOf4 likes this.
  4. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Where would the ceramic tube be located? I didn't see anything in my manual. Thanks for the info and future help (LOL).
  5. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I don't have a auto clean feature. I have a CAB50.
  6. The Ds

    The Ds Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    337
    Loc:
    Western PA, USA
    We have a PS50; basically the same as your Cab50.

    The thermocouple is inside the ceramic tube that hangs over the burnpot. Also unplug the stove before working on it. There is a bolt holding the ceramic piece in place. Ash can get in there and cause problems. Just tap the ash out, put the ceramic cover back over the thermocouple (ensuring that the cover makes contact with the thermocouple). Then power up the stove and give it a try.
  7. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Yep... Sounds like the thermocouple isnt sensing the flame.

    Makesure the Thermocouple (metal rod) is touching the inside end of the White ceramic cover, and make sure the cover is sticking out into the pot so flame can "lick" it.
  8. mralias

    mralias Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    878
    Loc:
    MA
    Page 47.1 item #6.1 is the ceramic tub, item #6 is the assembly in your manual for a CAB50.
  9. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Would the white thing sticking into the burnpot be the thermocouple you're talking about? I vacuumed that out and the same thing is happening.

    Attached Files:

    • 019.JPG
      019.JPG
      File size:
      125.9 KB
      Views:
      103
  10. LMPS

    LMPS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Loc:
    Coastal, Maine
    The thermocouple is inside the white ceramic tube in your picture. To clean in side it like the others have said you have to losen the nut holding it. If you do the cover will come off. Then follow the instructions the others have given you.
  11. The Ds

    The Ds Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    337
    Loc:
    Western PA, USA
    Is the feedgate inside the hopper completely open?
  12. Jack Morrissey

    Jack Morrissey Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Loc:
    Stoughton, Ma
    when you hit the reset, can you hear the auger turning, and are there ANY pellets falling?
  13. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I just took it off and cleaned it again, but there was no ash in it. The same thing is still happening.
  14. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    No, I have the feed adjustment a medium setting. If I open it completely the fire gets crazy.
  15. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    After the fire starts to die down and I hit the reset button nothing happens. You just hear the fan going.
  16. The Ds

    The Ds Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    337
    Loc:
    Western PA, USA
    But your fire is going out now..... try opening the feedgate a bit more and see if that helps.
  17. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Same thing. I do hear a clicking noise though. I've heard this noise before when it was working fine.
  18. Hdhogger

    Hdhogger Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Loc:
    Massachusetts
    Things to check for.
    Feed system fails to
    start
    Amber light blinking
    Out of fuel.
    #2 snap disc may be defective or tripped.
    Vacuum switch not closing. No vacuum.
    Defective vacuum switch
    Feed system jammed or blocked.
    Feed spring not turning with feed motor.
    Feed motor defective or not plugged in.
    Thermocouple may have failed. Amber light will blink 3 times, pauses, and keeps repeating
    Check hopper, fill with fuel.
    Reset or replace snap disc
    Check vacuum fitting on auger tube for
    restrictions. Check door rope and replace if necessary.
    Check exhaust blower is plugged in and
    operating.
    Check vacuum switch is plugged in. Check vacuum hose is in good condition,
    clear and connected at both ends.
    Check thermocouple is in good condition and plugged in properly.
    Make sure venting system is clean.
    NOTE:
    High winds blowing into the venting system can pressurize the firebox causing loss of vacuum.
    Replace vacuum switch
    Empty hopper of fuel. Use a wet/dry vacuum cleaner to remove remaining fuel, from hopper, including feed tube.
    Check feed chute for obstructions.
    Remove feed assembly & check for
    obstruction.
    Check that set screw is tight on feed spring shaft at end of feed motor.
    Check connections on feed motor, replace if defective.
    Replace Thermocouple
  19. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest


    I agree. Open feed gate. The T/C isnt sensing the flame.

    Could he because of to little fuel? Or the t/C isnt touching the inside end of ceramic cover

    Is the gate set according to the manual? (4"-6" above pot on High). Then turn to desired heat setting.
  20. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    So here's the recap of the things I've done so far:
    1) cleaned stove - ashpan, vacuum inside, hopper
    2) cleaned out the clean out tee
    3) cleaned out the thermocouple.

    This all started AFTER I cleaned the clean out tee. Did I do something wrong? The cap is on as far as it will go
  21. The Ds

    The Ds Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    337
    Loc:
    Western PA, USA
    OK, how about the auger (inside the hopper) and the pellet chute (the hole in the center panel inside the stove)? We had a jam in ours yesterday even though I had vacuumed all pellets out of hopper (so auger was 'empty' up there), AND had vacuumed up the chute (and got a few pellets from there too). BUT, when I pushed a smaller vacuum cleaner hose up the chute, BAM! A bunch of pellets fell! I knew that was the 'fix'! THEN I looked in the hopper and pellets had fallen back down the auger into the hopper. Lesson learned - just because you can't SEE a jam, and you've done 'everything' to clean out the area, doesn't mean there isn't a jam somewhere.
  22. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I vacuumed up the chute (from inside the stove) and down the chute (from the inside of the hopper). I heard a LOT of pellets being vacuumed up. The pellets fo feed during the initial start up.
  23. mralias

    mralias Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    878
    Loc:
    MA
    Is it possible you knocked a wire loose when you were cleaning it? I would re-check all connections just to make sure. Especially the thermocouple spade connectors. If the T-pipe is not seated correctly you would most likely smell smoke on start-up. Make sure you unplug it first.
  24. Hdhogger

    Hdhogger Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Loc:
    Massachusetts
    Does it fire up now?
  25. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Loc:
    Southern MD

    The wires are all connected as far as I can see.

Share This Page