1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Thermostat for a Breckwell P24 stove.

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Breckwell, Sep 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Breckwell

    Breckwell New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Pa
    When I had my stove installed last year the installer put in a cheap 250 millivolt thermostat that isn't worth a dime. The owners manual says you can use a 250 or 500 millivolt thermostat on the stove. But I can't find any out there. They are all 750 millivolt. I see they have a remote one on their web site but who wants to pay that kind of money when a wall unit would work just fine. Anyone know where I could get a thermostat and will a higher millivolt work?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,489
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    I used a LuxPro PSP511-LC on my breckwell bigE. It work very good.

    jay
  3. dac122

    dac122 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    348
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    Not familiar with that model stove, but if its like most others any millivolt thermostat should work since all its doing is completing the circuit. I think the only reason they specify millivolt tstats is so you don't somehow wire it up wrong, power the tstat wrong and send 24VAC, 110VAC, or 220VAC to your board.

    What's wrong with the one you have?
  4. imacman

    imacman Guest

  5. Breckwell

    Breckwell New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Pa

    It's a cheap snap type thermostat with no degree numbers just a slider. You can set it on the hairy edge of going off and it takes some high heat to get the thing to work on the low setting then when on the low setting you darn near freeze and have to turn it back up. So last winter I ran the stove on the number two setting most of the winter and left the thermostat off.
  6. dac122

    dac122 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    348
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    Then a cheap mercury tstat like this ubiquitous Honeywell round tstat should do, or even cheaper like this one. Or go for a digital one if you like the look and don't mind replacing batteries. Just make sure you follow Breckwell's minimum recommended distance from stove, if they have one.
  7. Breckwell Tech

    Breckwell Tech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    You can use a 750 millivolt thermostat on a new stove that has the latest version of control panel. If it is an older one you might not be able to get a 750 millivolt thermostat to work with the stove. All 250 and 500 millivolts work will all Breckwell stoves that accept a thermostat.

    Some thermostats that should work with the unit include, but are not limited to the following:
    Condar Millistat from www.condar.com
    Honeywell – Model RTH110B and TS86A from www.honeywell.com
    Rite Temp - Model 6022 from www.ritetemp-thermostats.com
    Braeburn - Model 2000 www.prothermostats.com/product.php?p=braeburn_2000&product=172295
  8. Breckwell

    Breckwell New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Loc:
    Pa
    I just bought the stove new last August. Newer version? Couldn't tell you.
  9. freonrick

    freonrick New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Ks
    if it says to use a millivolt stat then you would want to use a millivolt stat, if you use a regular 24v stat they will have a heat anticipator on it which will act as a resistor in the stat. that may not allow the electonics to work properly.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page