Timber Ridge 55-TRP10

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Vamountain

Oct 21, 2015
Virginia
Hello everyone. I am new to the Pellet Stove venture. I know people who have them, some love them, some hate them. I had / have natural gas furnace heat, but for some reason, even though the price is at a all time "low" my budget bill doesn't reflect it. So I turned to a pellet stove vs. wood stove.

With that in mind. After installation I am now getting some sort of vibration at various times. Sounds like the fan, but it's fine. Can not be felt through the stove, but you can hear it. It does it before the actual fan blower cuts on. Could it possibly be the auger?

Hi Vamountain, would it be possible for you to provide a bit more detail about the noise you are hearing? It sounds like you are saying the noise only happens on start-up, is that true?

In terms of specifically the augers, that stove uses a system where the augers float and are allowed to move up and down a little bit as needed to make room for the pellets. Sometimes the augers will rub against the auger tube and you can hear a slight squeal, but I wouldn't describe that as a vibration. I have the larger model of the same stove and I do sometimes get an intermittent vibration type noise if the back panel is loose so that might be something to look at.