Trailer Buying Advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mayhem

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
May 8, 2007
Saugerties, NY
Looking to pick up a used trailer on the cheap. I'm looking for somehting I cna safely load up with 2-4 tons of equipment, fresh cut firewood logs, a full size truck...just a general use medium dty trailer.

Looking for advice on how to examine a used trailer as I have zero experience. It seems like I would want to make sure the obvious stuff is there like no cracked weld seams, good hitch, lights/wiring (or at least know that I have to replace the lights/wiring) and the deck condition. I don't mind doing work to restore the right trailer...stripping and painting, pound out some dents or replace fenders if necessary, replace the wooden deck, rewire it, etc...but I want to make sure I'm buying someting that will be safe when I strap a few dozen logs to it and head out on the road.

I don't have a trailer brake controller in my truck, but that ought to be easy enough to install...its a 3/4 ton chevy with the factory tow package. What should I look for as far as trailer brake condition? Is it possible to test them without an in truck brake controller by shorting two contacts or applying 12v or anything of that nature.

Lastly, does anyone have a trailer they want to get rid of that might meet my needs? This is somehting I anticipate using maybe a couple times a year, but it wold be great to have when I need it.