tulip poplar

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wesessiah

Burning Hunk
Aug 31, 2012
Lincolnton NC
i've never used it before, but i have dozens that i can use, so figured "why not?" i have one that's about 18" and i started cutting it into rounds today. when i tried to split it (using a 6 lb maul) and it's like hitting a sponge. the maul will sink 1/2" - 3/4" of an inch into it and the hole i made closes right back up with no split started. i noticed water comes to the surface on the harder swings. do i need to let it sit cut for a little while first? i always hear people talk about how it splits so easily, but i'm getting less done on this than a 22" pin oak with a curve all the way up i did last year. thanks.

You just made me laugh. I have also run into logs that have rejected my maul too. Almost as if the tree is making its last stand. I have found 2 solutions, one is using the hydraulic splitter and two is letting the logs dry a little bit longer until the maul can get a better bite

Reactions: ScotO
You just made me laugh. I have also run into logs that have rejected my maul too. Almost as if the tree is making its last stand. I have found 2 solutions, one is using the hydraulic splitter and two is letting the logs dry a little bit longer until the maul can get a better bite