Upgrading the wood stove in the family cabin

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

LT_Cabin

Aug 7, 2023
I am starting the process of researching the replacement of the existing wood stove in our Lake Tahoe cabin. The existing wood stove works well, but we are looking to replace it with one that is more efficient, and just newer/safer. I am new to wood stoves, so I am looking to this forum for help with my decision on the right stove and what expect in terms of installation requirements/cost.

Cabin Specifics:
  • The current wood stove I believe is Oregon brand and is about 40 years old. (see pictures)
  • The cabin is about 1600 sqft 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. All on one level.
Questions:
  • What size stove should I get?
  • I am researching the Lopi Endeavor, Jotul F500, Blaze king Ashford 30.2/ SIROCCO SC30.2, Osburn 1700/2000; but I am open to recommendations for others in this quality/price range. I want something that is easy to use/clean and built well. I welcome input here.
  • What do I need to be concerned about for installation?
  • What should I expect for installation cost?
Thanks in advance for your help.

Wood Stove 1.JPG Wood Stove 2.jpg

What temperature is your place kept at when nobody is there? Is all heat shut off? How’s the insulation?

What temperature is your place kept at when nobody is there? Is all heat shut off? How’s the insulation?
We have an electric furnace the keeps the house at round 55 degrees when we are not there. That way the pipes do not freeze. The house is well insulated. It was built in 1978 and we have never had a problem.