1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)
  1. Hogwildz

    Hogwildz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6,745
    Loc:
    Next to nuke plant Berwick, PA.
    Vent time............
    The new forum is either not satellite internet user friendly for uploading photos, or I just don't know. I have had nothing but problems with uploading photos with 90% "error" failure rate. This really blows!
    That is all.................

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,289
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Hmm...I can check into that! It is certainly friendly in all the regular ways!

    Does it throw an error screen? It may be a "timeout" which I can change......
  3. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,289
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Before I turn this in for tech support:

    What browser? Have you tried different browsers? Do you have more than one computer? Tried others?

    Just trying to ID the problem as close as possible.
  4. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46,991
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
  5. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,984
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    There is a leak at the nuke blocking the sat signal. >>
  6. fossil

    fossil Accidental Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    10,172
    Loc:
    Bend, OR
    You don't have enough tattoos...there's a minimum ink-covered surface area required for access approval.
  7. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,984
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    I think that must be waved for pics of dogs, cats and sheds. :confused:
  8. fossil

    fossil Accidental Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    10,172
    Loc:
    Bend, OR
    ;lol Yeah, must be.
  9. Hogwildz

    Hogwildz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6,745
    Loc:
    Next to nuke plant Berwick, PA.
    Yes it gives an error window that pops up. I am using Firefox 13.0
    Never had the problem with the old forum.
    Happens whether I try to upload one, or several.
  10. Hogwildz

    Hogwildz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6,745
    Loc:
    Next to nuke plant Berwick, PA.
    Here is a print screen of the error test.jpg
  11. Hogwildz

    Hogwildz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6,745
    Loc:
    Next to nuke plant Berwick, PA.
    file size is 97.1 kb
    Gave me the error, but I clicked thumbnail and it loaded. Tried that before with no luck.
  12. Hogwildz

    Hogwildz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6,745
    Loc:
    Next to nuke plant Berwick, PA.
    same issue with Google Chrome
  13. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,289
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    But both times it actually uploaded???

    Does the file seem to take a long time to upload, given it's small size?
  14. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46,991
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    I don't think this is the browser. That image may be too large for a test. Try something a tenth that file size.

    Did you try the speed test? That will tell you your upload speed. If it's ridiculously low then that is likely the issue. FWIW, a friend of mine living up north in the boonies was going to sign up with WildBlue but his neighbors were having so many issues that he ended up going with Verizon's 3G. That seems to be working pretty reliably for them. They don't have WildBlue Excede service up there and they reported upload was 256k at best.

    One thing you might have closely checked is the sat dish alignment. If not good you will notice it with slow uploads first.
  15. Hogwildz

    Hogwildz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6,745
    Loc:
    Next to nuke plant Berwick, PA.
    I upload photos to salvage sites I use for work with the pics being in the 40-102 kb range with no problems.
    The bar goes to 100 instantly, then a pause 10-15 seconds, then the error screen.
    Speed test results: 1.7Mps d/l / .08Mps u/l

    Just tried to upload a 21.7 kb file, no go
  16. Hogwildz

    Hogwildz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6,745
    Loc:
    Next to nuke plant Berwick, PA.
    Ok, just tested on testmy.net 2x, fairly consistent
    [​IMG] Download :: 1.5 Mbps 194 kB/s [​IMG] Upload :: 118 Kbps 15 kB/s
    Not the greatest, but for satellite it is about what I have been getting since getting satellite in 2006. I never had any issues uploading pics in the old version of the forums.
  17. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,289
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Yeah, as you know that .08 MPS is too slow for just about anything!

    The old forum did not use a flash uploader and some other newer conventions which this one does.....so it makes sense that it worked there.

    Just for fun, have you tried turning off the rich text editor? It's worth a shot - you do that in your prefs.
  18. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46,991
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Might be worth asking the XF folks if there is a buffer timeout limit on upload that can be extended. In the meantime hog, you can email me any picture you want posted. Include the thread url so that I get it to the right one.
  19. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,289
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    I tried some hints from the XF people - try it now, with a smaller file first.
    Let me know.
  20. Hogwildz

    Hogwildz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6,745
    Loc:
    Next to nuke plant Berwick, PA.
    Nope tried a small one at 28.1 no go. Turned off rich text editor. Sill no go. I don't get while it works once in a while, and not other(most) the time. 118 KBPs should be plenty
  21. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,289
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Bummer - try the other crazy stuff like resetting the satellite router - and any other router in-between.

    Other than that, I am at an impasse - but will keep trying over at tech support.
  22. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46,991
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Good thought. Unplug (not just switch off) the sat router for a minute and the local router too if you have an additional router connected. Also, if there is an in between router, maybe try connecting directly to the sat router to see if that fixes the issue?
  23. Hogwildz

    Hogwildz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6,745
    Loc:
    Next to nuke plant Berwick, PA.
    No sat router, sat modem with lynksys router between it and the comp. I unplugged both, booted up modem, then router, no change. Actually tried that before I started bitching.
    Strange thing is, when I click to upload, the bar goes to 100%, but never loads the photo and then that error window pops up. Wonder why the meter goes to 100%, but the photo never loads?
  24. Jags

    Jags Moderate Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    14,893
    Loc:
    Northern IL
    Hogz - are your running Win7?
    And Craig, can you either confirm or deny that the popup box, when it errors out is from the forum software. I only ask, because the pop looks like it could be from either windowz or the forum. Knowing where it comes from will be half the battle.
  25. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,289
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    That is a forum error. The strange thing is that I set the timeouts to not get in the way.

    But it's possible that the satellite "up" connections breaks all kinds of rules as to the handshaking.

Share This Page