US King pellet stoves

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Jdesmaris

Oct 7, 2014
Northern Michigan
I am somewhat new to pellet stoves. Until last year, I heated with wood (for 40 years). So, a little bit of a learning curve. I bought a US King pellet stove last year at Tractor Supply. Model 5502M. It has worked much better then I expected. No problems once I got used to cleaning it once a week. Well, no issues except it does not work well if put put on the lowest heat setting. I am now looking at getting another. One for in the house and one in a barn. I went back to Tractor Supply and now they are selling a model KP130 stove. It looks near the same as the 5502M. My plan was to have two stoves the same model. This way, I might get some spare parts to have on hand in case something fails. Now - with two different models - I have no idea what parts fit both? I am worried that in a few years, no new parts will be available. I called the company and so far - even they do not seem to know. Also no PDF manuals to be found so far for the newer KP130. For the 5502M, yes. Considering I got no answer so far from the company, I wonder if they actually design it here, or let the Chinese do it?

Manual is vague at best for this stove. I found in one of these forums a setting not mentioned about pellet usage. Adjustable. I am not happy with the air wash at all. Glass gets dirty within hours of new or cleaning.