1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

us stove 6041-can it be made auto on/off?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by bluetarpmaster, Nov 11, 2012.

  1. bluetarpmaster

    bluetarpmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    hi,
    i recently got a us stove 6041. but what i really need is a stove that will automatically start and shut down based on a thermostat ( i know should have realized this before).
    does anyone know if it is possible to convert this to auto on/off ? perhaps the control board from one of their other stoves? i can't imagine they are much different within.
    thanks

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,463
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    I'm pretty sure all you'd need is to install a stat and set the mode on the controller. Should be in the manual somewhere?

    Where's Smokey? He's dug into these a bit for some of the other members.
  3. 343amc

    343amc Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    376
    Loc:
    West Michigan
    Not that I know of unless someone could reprogram the control board or knows of a different board that would work. Mine switches to heat range 1 when the stat says the set temperature is reached. Works good that way for me when it is 30 or below outside, as the stove will cycle between low and my initial heat range setting, but when it's above that my stove will idle on low all day once the room temp has been reached. That boogers up the glass but keeps my wife happy.
  4. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,463
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    I see now, Its either in manual or what we call hi/lo mode with the stat. No Auto/Off mode. I checked the other US Stove site for other units and they are the same except the 5520 which is from the sister company Breckwell. The controller is totally different and does offer Auto/Off. But you would need to completely rewire the stove to match controller. Not sure it advisable or even worth the effort.

    Probably easier to CL this unit and look for one that has the features you are looking for. Pretty sure the Englander units like the 10 CPM(theres a couple others) have manual/hi-lo/auto-off settings like the Enviro's/Regency/VistaFlames. All depends on how much you wanna spend.

    Hi/lo is great for the winter. Auto/off is best suited for the spring/fall warmer days. But beats on the igniter.
  5. bluetarpmaster

    bluetarpmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    yes i read in another thread that a thermostate can be used to contol temp once the unit is fired.
    i have a small home and it doesn't exacly get cold here (30 is a rare occurance) so i don't need it sputtering all day.
    i know they make other models that do have auto on/off and doubt the internal components are much different from those to mine. so i was thinking that maybe the only difference was the controler.
    i think the reason the 6041 doesn't do auto on/off is because of the corn option.
    maybe if i buy a replacement controler for a model (5120 i think) it would work. but i don't know what if any extra sensors an auto on/off feature would require if at all.
    i was hoping someone might have experience with auto on/offs and what is different between the models
  6. bluetarpmaster

    bluetarpmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    oops, i missed your reply, jtakeman, thanks. perhaps i just need to get a propane furnace and supplament with the pellet.
  7. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,463
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Propain furnace? Yuk! IMHO I'd look for a stove with the bells and whistles you need/want. But that's just me. Propane is pricey in my area-More than oil even. I guess having both the furnace and a pellet stove does offer options as prices fluctuate!

    Why I suggested the Enviro stuff is they have a controller that offers the stat(hi/lo-auto/off-manual) feature and a variable combustion blower for the different heat levels so no damper adjustments. Pretty sure the Englanders are similar as they don't have a damper at all. There should be some other units out there as well. Just something to think about.

    Keep us posted. ;)
  8. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,099
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    I'm not one for brain transplants, your best bet is if your controller can have its feed rates lowered to lower the low feed, contact USSC if you haven't found the information to do that with the controller on your 6041.

    The feed rate that needs to be lowered is the pilot or #1 firing rate.
  9. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,038
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    I had a 6041 and yes because it only has a 250 watt ignitor, if it went off with 100% corn then it would not be able to restart. Need a 500 watt ignitor to do that. As far as another control board goes the 6041 is multi-fuel with a corn program and a pellet program plus all the manual stuff. You would have to match all that up, so it may be difficult to find a similar one. I was disappointed with the price of corn so a multi-fueler is not for me.
  10. frogman

    frogman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    I just went through the thing with the stat and this stove does what 343amc said it will go to low and wait till the stat needs more heat i personally like the stat on mine it takes only 1 bag to heat my house a day well till it gets really cold. i would not mess with it myself if what you need is a on/off i would sell the stove and get one that does what you want.. just my 2 cents
  11. tlc1976

    tlc1976 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Loc:
    Michigan
    Can't believe I missed this thread. HR1 is enough to cook us out of the house so the thermostat method intended for the stove won't work. So I built an ON/OFF thermostat for our US stove and it works great. Has been going for a month now. Has saved a lot of pellets so far too.
  12. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,038
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    That new member did not say how he built the On/Off T-stat in this thread so you should PM him and ask him.
    http://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/us-stove-5500-burn-rate.93756/#post-1234379
  13. tlc1976

    tlc1976 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Loc:
    Michigan

Share This Page