Used wood burning inserts?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JTM21

Mar 7, 2014
Southern Minnesota
Hello everyone! I am new to the wood burning insert arena and have a few questions. I would like to put a wood burning insert into my existing fireplace. I have come across a used Drolet Escape 1800-i with the faceplate and the chimney liner included. Is it ok to put in a used insert and chimney liner assuming it all fits the fireplace dimensions and chimney opening that I have? If it is, what should I look for when inspecting the unit and chimney liner? Any and all info that may help me out would be appreciated. I would like to use this insert to heat my house most of the time if possible. The main level of the house is 1250 sq. ft.

Used is relative. Figure how old and what condition it is actually in. If you expect your insurance company involved, there are a whole bunch of other issues.
Probably best to post a picture of your fireplace here to start.

Thanks for the reply gzecc. I have not seen the unit yet. The seller has told me it is 4 years old but was only used the first year that he had it. Supposedly it is in "mint condition".
I have talked to my insurance company already and an insert is ok with them as long as it is not a homemade insert. I do plan on having it installed by someone with experience.
I will try to get a picture of my existing fireplace posted. I do realize I will have to do some modifications to the area to meet some clearance codes.