1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

VC 2560 Blower

Post in 'It's a Gas!' started by DieselEngineer, Feb 20, 2012.

  1. DieselEngineer

    DieselEngineer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Loc:
    NH
    I just installed a used VC 2560, converted to propane, direct vent, with blower. I hooked up a thermostat today and the pilot stays lit and the main burner lights and secures as it should. My problem, however, is that the blower never turns on.

    I have the thermostat hooked up to the top and bottom terminals on the pilot valve assembly itself. The three-way switch on the blower control is in T-stat mode. The Rheostat is set for roughly mid-range. The blower is plugged in. Any ideas on where to start? I'd like to get that blower running. It would throw the heat nicely.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,893
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    First thing I would check is the blower itself. Does it really work?
    I would remove the blower, disconnect the associated wiring & draw
    yourself a diagram showing where everything comes from as you
    remove it so you can do some bench-testing & general cleaning.
    There should be a separate switch for the blower. It may be the rheostat
    itself. Does it "click" when tuned all the way in one direction? The switch
    with the "T-stat" label should be for the burner. Generally speaking, blowers
    are wired thru a thermal disk which only closes when hot. This prevents
    the blower from actuating & blowing cold air. Trace the wiring from the
    blower to the rheostat & from the rheostat back to the blower. There's a
    t-disk in there somewhere. If it has failed, you can jumper the wires with
    a double male spade connector & actuate the blower with the rheostat, until
    you can get the correct replacement t-disk...
  3. DieselEngineer

    DieselEngineer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Loc:
    NH
    Thanks for the quick reply. Yes, the rheostat clicks all the way counter-clockwise. I'll pull the blower and check the wiring next.
  4. DieselEngineer

    DieselEngineer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Loc:
    NH
    I pulled off the rear shroud and am giving the stove a good cleaning. There is a sign on he interior that says "WARNING: DO NOT attempt to re-install the pin into the safety switch. Altering or modifying this switch could cause an explosion or serious injury."

    What is the safety switch? I found a cotter pin dangling from a piece of thin wire rope. These parts are not listed or mentioned in the manual.





    Edit: I pulled the blower and got a lot of dirt out. I also put power directly to the motor leads and only got humming, no movement. The squirrel cage is very stiff to rotate, so I suspect the windings are shot.

    Oh well, at least I got a good deal on the stove. Woodman's Forge is just up the road, so I'll see if they have a fan kit in stock.

    Edit 2: The pin held back a micro switch. I put the pin back in and now the three position switch functions properly for on, off, and t-stat. The small wire rope goes up to a small port near the upper part of the furnace. I suspect that is so someone does not remove the hatch and bypass the direct vent on accident.
  5. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,893
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    That small port is a safety blow-out, in case too much gas is present at ignition.
    Rather than having the firebox turn into a large bomb (for lack of a better word),
    the port allows the gas pressure to be released, & the pin gets pulled from the
    microswitch to disable lighting until (hopefully) the problem has been corrected.

Share This Page