VC Montpellier questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

glennm

Burning Hunk
Hearth Supporter
Dec 26, 2010
S Ontario
Hello Everyone
I am new to this forum and have some questions. I have been burning wood for over 35 years. I have had a few different stoves, all standard baffled wood stoves. For the last 20 years I have been using an insert in my great room and it has worked very well, noisy and kind of inefficient, but plenty of heat.
Last week we replaced it with a Montpellier insert and I have found the EPA stoves to be a whole new learning experience.

I have a few things i am hoping you can help me with:

1: I seem to need to crack the door at start-up, there is not a lot of draft with the lever all the way to the left. Is this normal?

2: The air channels in the front seem to very easily get full of ash, if there was much air coming in why does the airflow not keep the channels clear?

3: I have a lot of coals build up, this may be a matter of letting it burn down with some softwood, but I feel like I may be spending a fair bit of time keeping the stove from filling up with coals. My other insert could burn for a week or more without thinking about cleaning it out

4: I have to be very careful opening the doors during a burn or I get plenty of smoke into the room

That should be enough for now, thanks in advance for your help!

First off welcome to the Forum !!!!!
Glenn M said:
Hello Everyone