Vermont Castings Defiant Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
  • Super Cedar firestarters 30% discount Use code Hearth2024 Click here
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozarknana

Hearth Supporter
Good early morning to everyone....newbie here with a Defiant question. Seems I'm either "instructionaly challenged" or just freaking out! We purchased and installed the Defiant, and although it's still in the high 70's here, thought we would start a break-in fire to ready the old girl for the fall....we didn't notice it at first, but during the evening, when I opened the stove top, I could SEE THE FLOOR through about a 3 to 3 1/2" round hole in the floor at the very back of the stove! Really freaked over that...I mean, hot coals were laying outside the stove on the heat shield!

It appears, from the instruction book, that this is a fresh air intake....but we're not using it as such because we have an older home that's as drafty as all get out! There were no instructions that said anything about this needing to be covered up or what-not...

Is there something "missing" from our stove? It just doesn't seem very safe to have this gaping hole where everytime you poke the fire your sending ashes and burning coals out of the stove?

Can someone shed some light on this for me?

Much appreciate your time in reading this....the stove will NOT be used until we feel safe with it!!

Ozark Nana (and Mr. Nana too)

No, hot coals should not be dropping out of the bottom of the stove! In order to help:
What is the approximate year of manufacture for this "old girl"?